Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
rose well and came out light and fluffy the first time i made it and thats never happened to me before, always having to tweek recipes for my machine, weather, ingredients, skill, etc. ill def grind the seeds the next time for a better texture. i omit the sunflower seeds btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is definitely a keeper! The texture is amazing - chewy, with nice bubbling, and not too dense. I modified it slightly, but this is probably going to be my most baked bread. I used olive oil instead of butter, omitted the sunflower seeds, and used flax meal instead of flax seeds. As one other reviewer said, whole flax seeds pass through mostly undigested so the nutritional benefit of using the whole seeds is much less than using the ground meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a great bread. We make this every other week or so for our kids who have allergies to food dyes and preservatives and can't have standard bakery or store bought bread. I use Sunbutter, about 3T instead of sunflower seeds. We love how dense and heavy the bread is! Very filling, and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I bought my breadmaker two weeks ago and this is the only recipe I use! I love it, I have experimented with various ratios of White and wholegrain flour with great results. I no longer buy bread from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used 2 cups bread fl, 1/2 cup wheat flour, and 1/3 cup all-purpose flour. I also used ground up flax and a couple of scoops of Chia seeds instead of sunflower seeds, and the bread came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My VERY first bread in my very first breadmaker. Made it like the recipe says but ground half of the seeds which made a great texture. LOVED it, and may go make another one now (just cause I can...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I appreciate that this recipe is egg and dairy free. I added 1/2 C poppy seeds, as well as 1/2 a cup of golden flax seeds. This bread is sturdy enough support lots of additional healthy items like chia seeds, hemp hearts, or even walnuts. Over all one of my favorite bread recipes I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Tasty bread! I don't have a bread machine so I used my KitchenAid stand mixer. I made three loaves: combined 9 c whole wheat flour, 1/2 c vital wheat gluten, 1.5 tbsp salt, 1 tbsp SAF-instant yeast, 1 c oats, 1/2 c ground flax seeds, and 1.5 c of my grain and seed mix in the bowl. (I buy the following grains and seeds in bulk and combine them in a big container in equal amounts: quinoa, spelt flakes, amaranth, hulled sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, yellow cornmeal, and millet.) To the dry mix I added 6 tbsp melted butter and 3/4 c honey, and started the mixer on speed 2. I gradually added in 4 c warm water (about 120 degrees), let it knead for ten minutes, and kneaded it by hand for a few minutes on a Silpat on my counter. To provide a warm environment for rising, I turn on the oven light. I put the dough in an oiled bowl and covered it with a damp cloth. As another reviewer said, I let it rise for an hour, punched it down, let it rise another half hour, and let the loaves rise for 20 minutes in the pans. 30 minutes at 350 degrees. They're cooling on a wire rack as I type this; they turned out a nice brown color, and I've had to take several breaks from typing to cut a slice. Delicious, light and fluffy... I can't tell that it's 100% whole wheat! I'll definitely be baking this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've just spent 16 hours trying to make this bread. I realized early on that there isn't enough yeast in this recipe but decided to make it as is. Well after mixing it together and letting it "rise" for 2 hours, nothing had happened. Since it was evening, I figured I could lose nothing by letting it sit in my lighted oven overnight. Yay! it had risen when I checked it in the morning. So then I punched it down and had to let it do the slow rise again in the bread pan. I gave it about 2 1/2 hours and by the end of that time it had risen to the top of the pan but didn't have a bread dome. I baked it for about 30 minutes at 350 in a glass loaf pan. It looks in both composition and texture like a sweet bread. I don't like the initial taste that I've had but I will give it another chance when it's cool. If I make it again it will take some major tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is the best bread I have ever made in my bread machine. I used sesame seeds instead of flax seed, Self raising wholemeal flour instead of the whole wheat bread flower and a mixture of honey and syrup as I didn't have the correct ingredients. It was delicious!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hoppers Crossing, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States