Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is wonderful bread! I didn't make any changes to it and it turned out great. Used it today to make a grilled cheese sandwich. Thanks for this exceptional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is an excellent bread. I have added the sunflower seeds at the beginning of the cycle and they are fine. I set this up at night with the timer and it is ready in the morning. I've also used 1/2 sunflower seeds and 1/2 pumpkin seeds. This was great if you like lots of seeds in your bread. I think it would be good with a bit of chopped nuts as well. All in all a great bread machine recipe that turns out every time. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Just made this bread and it turned out beautifully. The only change I made was that I ground the flax a little (not too much because I like it chewy!) I made the dough in the bread machine and let it proof there for about an hour. Then I took it out, shaped it and let it rise in a greased pan for half hour. Baked it at 375 for half hour (I think I might leave it in an extra 5-10 min next time). Heavy as lead but delicious plain and toasted with butter and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is my favorite bread machine bread - I've made it many times and it always comes out great. I cook it in the bread machine. I slightly increased the whole wheat flour (to 1 1/2 cups), salt (to 1.5 tsp) and yeast (to 1.5 tsp). I live in high altitude. The last time I made it for added nutrition I reduced the amount of flax seeds and sunflower seeds to 1/4 cup each, then added 1/4 cup ground flax seeds, 1/4 cup quinoa flakes and 1/8 cup sesame seeds. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
excellent bread! i tried this once with half white flour and half whole wheat flour, and a second time with all whole wheat flour. it is better with half and half, the bread will rise better. also, i threw in whatever nuts and seeds i had in the pantry, making this a very tasty and healthy bread! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Superb! This was a delicious, hearty bread loaded w/ flavor & good stuff-- perfect for a winter's day! Great toasted w/ a little honey. Thanks too, for the reviewers who converted it to non-bread machine (I don't own one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delicious! Nice light texture and great taste. I used ground flax (a bit less than amt. given) and left out the sunflower seeds as I didn't have any. I tried it for grilled cheese and it was fabulous. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
All I can say is - Wow! An artisan type bread for a fraction of the cost at your local bakery. A few slight modifications: used margarine rather than butter; used the dough cycle on the bread machine and baked the loaf at 350 degrees for approx. 30 minutes; needed to add a bit more whole wheat flour during the mix/knead cyle; and brushed with melted margarine once it came out of the oven. Delicious and a definite recipe box keeper!! Thanks for the great recipe, Erna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This came out great, I did make some substitutions and it was wonderful! I subbed 1/3 cup each of flax meal, cracked wheat meal and steel cut oat meal for the 1/2 cup each of flax seeds and sunflower seeds. I also used 2 tbs molasses and 1 tbs honey instead to 3 tbs honey, gave it a very nice color and rich flavor! I don't like how bread comes out of my bread machine with a hole in the bottom so I only use it for the dough cycle and then baked in the oven in a buttered loaf pan and 375 for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIE MUMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Pretty good hearty bread. I was surprised how good it tasted with just that little bit of honey in the recipe. I think I would use only 1/3 or 1/4 c. sunflower seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States