Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was a pretty good wheat bread recipe. I had everything, but had to sub flaxmeal for the seeds . That worked fine. I am just not a fan of the seeds whole. I also used white whole wheat. My sunflower seeds were unsalted and roasted. For some reason the bread machine recipes never suggest warm water. Out of habit I used warm water, and about 105~110 degrees. On the cycle, suggested, it took 3 hrs and 25 minutes in my Zojirushi bread machine. This bread tasted like whole wheat bread and had that healthy flavor. However, it was soft and had an almost buttery aftertaste. Cutting it with my Presto bread guide I got 17 slices at 129 calories each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Came out beautifully!! I used agave nectar and ground flax.I also added a tablespoon full of chia seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYME4MA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I baked it in the oven after the machine did all the kneading and rising; I may have underbaked it, but won't know for sure until it cools and we get closer to the center of the loaf, but the dough came together beautifully without interference and rose excellently for the right amount of lift to the dense chewiness of the whole-wheat-ness and the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made this for the first time today, and WOW is it yummy! I didn't have "bread flours" but used all purpose and wheat flours. When the bread machine signaled it was time to add the sunflower seeds, I was worried because the dough seemed SO sticky that it was having a hard time even moving the ball of dough around. I helped it along for a minute or so after I first put added the sunflower seeds, but eventually said "forget it" and decided to let it do its thing. It somehow worked out, and created a beautiful, rich loaf. This bread TOASTED is like heaven on earth. YUM! Will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iScream4icecream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I searched for many months for a recipe like this! I have bought this type of bread from the grocery store before and it is always one of my favorites. I am so happy that I found this recipe! I have made it several times now and it always turns out perfect! Now I am searching for the perfect rye bread recipe. This recipe seems to be the perfect combination of flour, liquid and oil. I like how it turns out soft but hearty. So, I plan to try this recipe but change it up for rye bread. Instead of all the whole wheat flour I plan to use 2/3 cup of rye flour and 2/3 cup of whole wheat. I'll add a teaspoon of caraway seeds in place of sunflower seeds. Instead of honey I'll use molasses. Hoping it turns out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is my favorite bread recipe I've found on this site so far. I am a huge fan of sunflower seeds so i may be a tad bias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeletronis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teemee234
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Excellent! This recipe just replaced our $5/week Good Seed habit! I didn't have wheat flour, so I substituted AP white flour for it, and used bread flour as was called for. Everything else stayed the same (added a pinch more salt per several suggestions) and this bread is AWESOME! Light, fluffy (let it rise total of 3 hrs between punches) and it's not even cool yet, and is already 3/4 gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was my first attempt at making bread in my breadmaker, and it turned out to be one fabulous first bread@! Used roasted unsalted sunflower seeds. Set breadmaker for dough; my breadmaker instructions say to put these in at the start of the 2nd knead cycle, which was 30 minutes into the dough process. Let it rise in a greased loaf pan and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. PERFECTO! We changed what we were eating for dinner so we could have this bread with it. We are in love with this bread and will be making it again. I know it will also be great as toast with jam on it~ Thanks for a great recipe! By the way, my grocery didn't have whole wheat bread flour available, so I just used regular bread flour for the whole amount of flour - no problem. Did not change any of the other ingredients - perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this once. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Very good! I have made this a few times now. I accidentally used milled flax instead of just flax seeds and it was so much better and moist than the "correct" version. Although both versions were good, I think I will stick with the milled flax from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States