Flavorful Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I've tried different recipes for fried chicken and haven't really liked one. This one was rated a 5 star recipe from my husband. My picky kids also ate them! I took everyone's advice and double dipped as well as added more seasoning. Turned out nice and crunchy. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
for the people that couldnt get the batter to stick try frying it in a skillet for 5 mins. at a time and then re-dipping them. a lot of effort but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Austin Roop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this last night and it was the best fried chicken I've ever made. I made a couple of changes: I beat two eggs, dipped the chicken in the milk then the eggs then the coating. I then did the process all over again resulting in a double coat. I did not have poultry seasoning, so I left it out. Instead of onion powder, I used the dried minced onions I had on hand. My husband and sons loved it. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Followed the basic recipe making some changes as needed for our dietary restrictions. (Different spices and coconut milk) I did double dip the chicken tenders. My husband said they were the best he had ever had. Tried the breading on zucchini last night, delicious! This will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
loved it, it was very delicious and easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I didn't have bread crumbs so I used crushed Ritz crackers. One tube is the perfect amount called for in this recipe. I also used bone-in chicken thighs instead of tenders because that's what I had on hand so I cooked them for 8 minutes per side. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was great. I used Panko bread crumbs. I breaded all my chicken and let it sit in the fridge for a bit before I fried it up. Wasn't a single piece left. Will make again without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Mmmm! My favorite recipe! When I'm done I pour off all the frying oil except a tablespoon and the use the leftover breading mixture to create a roux with the crispy bits in the pan for a simple gravy. Add milk and heat till thickened and you have the perfect stipplin' gravy for use on mashed spuds or a little rice as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
turned out absolutely delicious... didnt change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urbaneve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Best Fried Chicken I've made to date and I've tried several receipes. Thanks Katy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States