Flavorful Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
very good. i like the crisp outside and moist inside will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was the best recipe where the crust actually stayed on the chicken legs. Panko bread crumbs are the best. Did not add the salt. Next time (and there will be one) will up the garlic and onion powders. Maybe even add some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a great and very flavorful recipe for fried chicken. I always soak my chicken in salt water first to get the blood out. It make the chicken a lot more aestheically pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is my first review of a recipe on this site. This is a great recipe. I have been trying a lot of Fried Chicken recipes and could not get the flavor i was looking for. I used Bisquick instead of flour because i ran out of Flour. That's a man for you. I did not use cut up chicken but rather used chiken breast cut into strips for chicken fingers. I did not have any Onion powder but other than that it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Case
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
i finally found this recipe again,its the best recipe i found for fried chicken ever,i use it for frog legs to.thanks for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
turned out absolutely delicious... didnt change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by urbaneve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Mmmm! My favorite recipe! When I'm done I pour off all the frying oil except a tablespoon and the use the leftover breading mixture to create a roux with the crispy bits in the pan for a simple gravy. Add milk and heat till thickened and you have the perfect stipplin' gravy for use on mashed spuds or a little rice as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was great. I used Panko bread crumbs. I breaded all my chicken and let it sit in the fridge for a bit before I fried it up. Wasn't a single piece left. Will make again without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Followed the basic recipe making some changes as needed for our dietary restrictions. (Different spices and coconut milk) I did double dip the chicken tenders. My husband said they were the best he had ever had. Tried the breading on zucchini last night, delicious! This will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this last night and it was the best fried chicken I've ever made. I made a couple of changes: I beat two eggs, dipped the chicken in the milk then the eggs then the coating. I then did the process all over again resulting in a double coat. I did not have poultry seasoning, so I left it out. Instead of onion powder, I used the dried minced onions I had on hand. My husband and sons loved it. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States