Flavorful Chicken Fried Steaks with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
After reading the review of bomackin, it is clear that the name of this recipe was ill-chosen. This system will not allow me to change it though. Although it is a "breaded" and "fried in oil" steak, it is actually simply a browned steak cooked in gravy and certainly not "chicken" fried. It is really tasty, however, and my family loves it with mashed potatoes! As the creator of this recipe, I am sorry for any confusion caused by the title and hope you may give it a try anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! A change from regular steak, the family loved it and it was so easy! The meat was so tender it just fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is my husband's favorite crock pot meal now. I made it just like the recipe said. Sometimes I add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
my kids love this recipe. i use it over and over again. just a hint dont use any seasonings. it can be salty depending on what brand of gravy and what brand of creme of chicken you use if you add salt. i dont add any extra seasonings to this and its perfect for us. also i dont use greek seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is a good recipe to utilize inexpensive round steak. I will make it again because I really liked the gravy it made with the onions, but I think it is more like swiss steak, def not chickien fried steak. Anyways, I deglazed with dry cooking sherry after I fried the meat. I did not have greek seasoning, which contains mint, so I just used italian seasoning. I served with boiled okra and garlic mashed potatoes. Hubby and all 5 kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Chicken Fried Steak is breaded and fried in oil, like fried chicken. One of the great tricks to a great chicken fried steak is to include a touch of sugar in order to caramelize the breading as it fries, then, when the steaks are all fried, leave some of the fried crumblies in the pan. Remove as much oil as will not be needed for the gravy and make white gravy but only after browning the flour (use the leftover seasoned flour, complete with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and that all important sugar). This produces a not so quite 'white', milk gravy, with a richer and more enjoyable flavor. Don't try to bread recently defrosted meat unless it has been thoroughly dried, e.g. - with paper towels. Mashed potatoes, skins still on, are fabulous with such a dish, and are most easily done via a crockpot, IMHO.... but it's all quite tough on the waist line, so we don't make it often any more...... *sigh*....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States