Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I'm rating this for the beef sauce, which is simplicity itself and lent a wonderful flavor to my stri-fry. I used different veggies, no water chestnuts or cabbage, and omitted the 4-minute simmer because we like our veggies tender-crisp and there was no liquid in the pan anyway. Because I was using dryer veggies I should have doubled the sauce and will from now on. The sauce makes a great base for beef stir-fry and couldn't be easier. I wasn't serving wine tonight, so used mirin for the wine and it worked well. The sauce is my new base recipe for beef stir-fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
So, I actually changed this recipe quite a bit, I tripled the sauce and substituted Apple juice for the white wine. Added 2 teaspoons garlic powder to the sauce. I made this without Beef. Instead of coating beef with the sauce I coated my veggies after I let the veggies cook just a bit (about a min or so) then let them cook until soft. Poured over brown rice was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very good sauce. I made it with a frozen bag of vegetables and added fresh green beans. I also added fresh Ginger and garlic to the pan before cooking the beef. Hubby and two out of three kids loved it...that's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I really like this recipe. Although, I have changed and added a few things.I did not add frozen veggies, I like them fresh. And I have added to some mushroom soy sauce and Hoi-sin sauce, just a few tsp. for some more taste. I only tried it with water and I will try it today with Apple juice :) Also, I did not add water chestnuts because I did not have any. Lastly, I doubled the ginger and added garlic. SO GOOD! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Yummy!! Even works with chicken ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Restaurant taste at home! My husband and I were very pleased with this recipe. I did add 1 clove of garlic. I'm not a ginger lover, so next time I might lessen the ginger to 1 or 2 teaspoons. My husband loved it the way it was and said he wouldn't change a thing. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe, the fresh ginger makes the dish for me. I used all fresh veg and added 1/4 c of water after stir frying the veg before covering and simmering forthe 4 min. They were perfectly crisp tender. Thanks for a great quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a good base. I used fresh steam in bag asian veg and steamed 2 min. I subbed 1 tbl ground ginger and added to corstarch mixture. Seared sirloin in sesame oil (reserved liquid) then added the steamed veggie and reserved sauce. Then added about a cup of water just because we like it "saucy". Excellent! A keeper and soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. You can change the veggies with what you have on hand. The only problem tends to be the sauce. All I did was add about 1/4 cup or so of water to the pan near the end. If you double the sauce, I think it would tend to be too salty or too much soy sauce flavor, if you choose to use low salt soy sauce. Other than that, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love the sauce on this! I changed a lot of the veggies, and a couple of times used red wine instead of white and it was good all around! Easy to make and super flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States