Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I'm rating this for the beef sauce, which is simplicity itself and lent a wonderful flavor to my stri-fry. I used different veggies, no water chestnuts or cabbage, and omitted the 4-minute simmer because we like our veggies tender-crisp and there was no liquid in the pan anyway. Because I was using dryer veggies I should have doubled the sauce and will from now on. The sauce makes a great base for beef stir-fry and couldn't be easier. I wasn't serving wine tonight, so used mirin for the wine and it worked well. The sauce is my new base recipe for beef stir-fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
So, I actually changed this recipe quite a bit, I tripled the sauce and substituted Apple juice for the white wine. Added 2 teaspoons garlic powder to the sauce. I made this without Beef. Instead of coating beef with the sauce I coated my veggies after I let the veggies cook just a bit (about a min or so) then let them cook until soft. Poured over brown rice was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Mellem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very good sauce. I made it with a frozen bag of vegetables and added fresh green beans. I also added fresh Ginger and garlic to the pan before cooking the beef. Hubby and two out of three kids loved it...that's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefLayOrDee
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great Recipe!! It was Delish!! I added colorful peppers and a few mushrooms instead of the water chestnuts, bok choy, and Chinese cabbage.. I also added just a splash of teriyaki marinating sauce to the sauce mixture for the steak.. To make it easier to shop, I just picked up a stir fry veggie mix from the produce section at Walmart.. My family enjoyed it!! Will try again.. And again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I really like this recipe. Although, I have changed and added a few things.I did not add frozen veggies, I like them fresh. And I have added to some mushroom soy sauce and Hoi-sin sauce, just a few tsp. for some more taste. I only tried it with water and I will try it today with Apple juice :) Also, I did not add water chestnuts because I did not have any. Lastly, I doubled the ginger and added garlic. SO GOOD! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I altered the recipe a little, in that I did not use bok choy or water chestnuts because I am not a fan of either. I also added more broccoli, onions and added mixed veggies to stretch the meal. As far as flavor, my family thought it was bland and thought it was missing something, so I added garlic, some more soy sauce and soyaki that I purchased from Trader Joe's. Although I altered it somewhat, I will use this recipe again as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I substituted Brown Sugar, and added a touch more ginger. Tastes wonderful, rivals any savory beef stir fry recipe! This will definitely become a staple recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I'm not sure what happened. I have tried this recipe twice, exactly as written, and both times the sauce turned into a gelatinous blob. The flavor was good but I ended up scraping the sauce out while cooking the beef because it was turning into gelatin. Maybe adding water would've helped? Also I used all fresh veggies and added water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Yummy!! Even works with chicken ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Restaurant taste at home! My husband and I were very pleased with this recipe. I did add 1 clove of garlic. I'm not a ginger lover, so next time I might lessen the ginger to 1 or 2 teaspoons. My husband loved it the way it was and said he wouldn't change a thing. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States