Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I'm rating this for the beef sauce, which is simplicity itself and lent a wonderful flavor to my stri-fry. I used different veggies, no water chestnuts or cabbage, and omitted the 4-minute simmer because we like our veggies tender-crisp and there was no liquid in the pan anyway. Because I was using dryer veggies I should have doubled the sauce and will from now on. The sauce makes a great base for beef stir-fry and couldn't be easier. I wasn't serving wine tonight, so used mirin for the wine and it worked well. The sauce is my new base recipe for beef stir-fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
So, I actually changed this recipe quite a bit, I tripled the sauce and substituted Apple juice for the white wine. Added 2 teaspoons garlic powder to the sauce. I made this without Beef. Instead of coating beef with the sauce I coated my veggies after I let the veggies cook just a bit (about a min or so) then let them cook until soft. Poured over brown rice was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Mellem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very good sauce. I made it with a frozen bag of vegetables and added fresh green beans. I also added fresh Ginger and garlic to the pan before cooking the beef. Hubby and two out of three kids loved it...that's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefLayOrDee
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great Recipe!! It was Delish!! I added colorful peppers and a few mushrooms instead of the water chestnuts, bok choy, and Chinese cabbage.. I also added just a splash of teriyaki marinating sauce to the sauce mixture for the steak.. To make it easier to shop, I just picked up a stir fry veggie mix from the produce section at Walmart.. My family enjoyed it!! Will try again.. And again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I really like this recipe. Although, I have changed and added a few things.I did not add frozen veggies, I like them fresh. And I have added to some mushroom soy sauce and Hoi-sin sauce, just a few tsp. for some more taste. I only tried it with water and I will try it today with Apple juice :) Also, I did not add water chestnuts because I did not have any. Lastly, I doubled the ginger and added garlic. SO GOOD! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I altered the recipe a little, in that I did not use bok choy or water chestnuts because I am not a fan of either. I also added more broccoli, onions and added mixed veggies to stretch the meal. As far as flavor, my family thought it was bland and thought it was missing something, so I added garlic, some more soy sauce and soyaki that I purchased from Trader Joe's. Although I altered it somewhat, I will use this recipe again as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I substituted Brown Sugar, and added a touch more ginger. Tastes wonderful, rivals any savory beef stir fry recipe! This will definitely become a staple recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I'm not sure what happened. I have tried this recipe twice, exactly as written, and both times the sauce turned into a gelatinous blob. The flavor was good but I ended up scraping the sauce out while cooking the beef because it was turning into gelatin. Maybe adding water would've helped? Also I used all fresh veggies and added water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Yummy!! Even works with chicken ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Restaurant taste at home! My husband and I were very pleased with this recipe. I did add 1 clove of garlic. I'm not a ginger lover, so next time I might lessen the ginger to 1 or 2 teaspoons. My husband loved it the way it was and said he wouldn't change a thing. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States