Flavored Milk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
What a great recipe. It snowed here last nite and as kids came tumbling into the kitchen with cups of ice asking for spoons, I immediately remembered this recipe. We used cherry flavored - the kids loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Easy to make and a nice alternative as a gift. My mistake was I thought I had read the recipe and instructions. Instead of the powdered soft drink mix I used sugar free gelatin, adding it before the cooking process. I cooked in the microwave and it foamed up over the bowl; what a mess. The syrup turned out with a nice flavor, clear and bright. Am eager to make more flavors for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My oldest boy and I made this together after breakfast this morning--we used strawberry Kool-Aid. VERY simple. We could not wait for it to cool. He had to mix some into milk RIGHT THAT SECOND. I wouldn't recommend that. But really, this recipe is awesome. Huge hit with me and both boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This syrup made surprisingly good strawberry milk! But the grandchildren will be the true taste testers. I'll amend my review after they try it.***Grandchildren approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is great! Kool Aid and sugar are so much cheaper than the bottles of syrup; I made strawberry to see how it would turn out, and it is excellent! Thanks for such a cool recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
this was a good idea. pretty good my toddler loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I cut the sugar in half & used grape flavor kool-aid. Even I liked the flavor it added to the milk. Neat idea...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I used this as a snow cone topper. My kids absolutley loved it! It was so easy and quick, and once it cooled (I put it in the fridge) it was really thick! We tried it on pancakes too, really nice and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I've been making this syrup for ages (didn't realize there was a recipe posted for it until now). We've always used it in water - it takes up less room than a pitcher of Kool-Aid. We keep it in those plastic non-dairy creamer bottles with the pouring spouts. I haven't tried it in milk yet though, but I think I just might now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I've made this twice so far and it goes fast. My 2 1/2 year old son LOVES it. This is so much cheaper than buying the store bought syrups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States