Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Delicious! My husband and I love this chili. I make it in a large crock pot by adding the cooked beef and all other ingredients in the crock pot and cooking it on low for 2+ hours. Only thing I didn't include was celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is such a good chili recipe. I think it's the first time I've made chili without using some type of canned tomatoes but just tomato juice and tomato sauce. I followed the recipe to a T and it was absolutely delicious! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I cook this recipe in the Crock Pot on low about 4 hours. It's a family favorite! I omit the cayenne as it's too hot for the kids, and reduce the tomato juice by about half because we like it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe as is, no changes. My husband and I really enjoyed the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
LOVE this recipe! I was a little skeptical at first because of the amount of tomato juice and sauce it called for, but it's become my go-to chili recipe. The only changes I make are adding a little extra cumin and cayenne pepper to better suit my taste, but otherwise I follow instructions as-is and it turns out great every time (I've left out the green pepper and celery once before too because I didn't have them on hand; it was just as good without). I always receive rave reviews and requests for the recipe when I make this. Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannylynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is a very basic chili recipe. Very good, especially on a cold day. I followed the recipe as far as ingredients were concerned, but threw it in my crock pot after cooking and draining the ground beef. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Reliable recipe and worthy of being in your repertoire. Knowing ahead of time that I don't like Kidney beans, I substitute Pintos. Chili without beans is often called "Texas" chili... a misnomer because Texans like beans the way Mungo likes beans. Don't skimp on the chili powder. No, no! But do use a premium chili powder. Your chili dish will never be any better than the chili spices used in it. Morton's Chili Blend, if you can find it, or Schilling. Gephardt's if that's all you can find. And taste it before you decide on the cumin... some chili blends already have cumin in them. Good chili isn't necessarily hot; it is, however, well spiced and flavorful. I'm more inclined toward crushed tomatoes or tomato puree, but out on the cattle drives where chili was invented (to use up less than prime beef scraps) they probably didn't tomatoes at all. It's a very personal dish, but some chuck-wagon cooks were buried beside the trail just because of their chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Omitted celery and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The sign of a good recipe is one that doesn't need a lot of tweaking. I've never put in the full amount of spice. My kids would never eat it if I did but we love it just the same. One of these days I'll separate out the batch and do an 'adult version'. I prefer to split the beans: half red and half black. No other revisions made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States