Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this for the first time this week and loved it. I never thought to add tomato juice. I omitted the celery and green onion and used almost the whole bottle V8 juice (46 oz). I also used 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed. With all the added canned ingredients and V8, I thought I should only use a 1/2 of salt. It was still a little too salty for me. So the next time I make this, I'll omit the salt entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was a great Chili! However I just did not need the tomato juice, and did not want any part of the celery, but other than that it was good!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherealove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Substituted a one pound bag of Morning Star Griller crumbles to make it a vegetarian chili...turned out AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I hate when someone changes a recipe then pans it but I have made this a bunch of time, with a few changes,and my whole family loves it. Tomato juice is not something I keep on hand so I use one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce. I also do one can of black beans and two cans of chili beans and a little finely diced jalapenos. Really good chili recipe for a grandma who has never been able to make chili from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is a really great recipe as is. My 6 year old even loves it! Goes great with the Golden Sweet Cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Armstrong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The only thing I changed was I added a can of diced tomatoes. After making it I could not stop eating it. Went back to the pan 5 times while it was cooling, after I already ate a bowl of it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Beats, hands down, the chili seasoning packets I had used for years..plus far less expensive in the long run. Thanks George for sharing your recipe..this is such a great site..I could spend hours reading reviews and suggestions on recipes..feels like a community rather than just a cookbook!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Great recipe. I change it up just a tad by adding some chilies or/and some of my favorite hot sauce to make it mine. lol Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made this Chili today for family as we watched the Football games and it was spectacular. Although I usually am a firm believer in trying the recipe exactly how it is written before making any changes, I had some Hot Pork sausage that needed to be used so I used it in lieu of half the ground beef and it was AWESOME! I really think the fact that i used HOT pork sausage made a huge difference. It had a really nice kick to it. Oh and I also didnt have Tomato juice so i threw in a can of Diced tomatos with green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I thought I could make a mean chili, but thought I'd try this recipe. This is by far the best chili! It freezes beautifully, too. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and I would not change anything. Going to make this for a crowd in the upcoming weeks and will share this recipe with them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States