Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very tasty! Not too spicy but you can adjust your own heat! I used salt free juice to cut some of the sodium. Everyone had their choice of toppings, sour cream, hot sauce, chili powder, onions, crackers and Fritos. Hubby even grilled some hot dogs for chili dogs too. Served with a salad and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I make one simular to this...I'd like for folks to try.Cook 1-2 lbs. ground beef,season it with onion powder & seasoning salt.Drain.Put in large pot,with tomato sauce(you choose how much)and 2 cans of pinto beans not drained.Add 1 lg. can of diced green chilli's,cumin and chilli powder.To make it spicier,I add a few good squirts of Franks Redhot sauce.We either eat in a bowl topped with shredded cheese,and crackers,or over cooked elbow noodles.Fast & easy,taste real good.(sometimes we use onions on top)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My notes: Used 1 lb turkey, extra can of beans, 3 cans tomatoes instead of tomato juice and start with 1 tb of chili powder, add more as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is the best. Won one contest, and now onto the next. I changed a few ingredients to the recipe. Then did not use the tomato juice, added more beans. As I made it the night before the need, as putting in the refrigerator probably did help. There were many including myself that wanted to have more then one helping. Used a small hot pepper to give it alittle boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle Milks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is a great chili recipe, but really lends itself to modifying it to your own preferences!! I've made the recipe as it is...but have started to "play" with it a bit and now I like it even more. I decrease tomato sauce to 8 oz and add 28 oz crushed tomato, 1 can tomato paste and 2 cups of beef broth. Add 28 oz drained diced tomatoes and use 1 can black beans and 1 can of kidney beans (both drained and rinsed). To the seasonings I add 2 T more chili powder, 1 teaspoon of chipotle pepper and 1 extra teaspon of cumin. So good...my hubby's favorite chili!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This chili is the best I have ever had... Not a chili fan and either is my husband but this one is amazing! Simple to make and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Great recipe - easy and perfect seasoning. I used diced tomatoes instead of juice since that's what I had and added more beans. Thanks - this will be my go-to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe as is, more or less. I like it hot so I add a little Tabasco or cayenne powder. I have tried it with diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, it makes it a little thicker but tastes about the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made it almost exactly as follows, the only thing I left out was the cayenne and just added a 1/4 tsp of more chili powder instead. Turned out awesome, and not too watery like other reviews stated, just let it sit for 10min after removing from burner to thicken and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States