Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Needed a chili recipe quick...I had most of the ingredients on hand for the Flatlander recipe and put it together quickly. It came out superb!! Served it with steamed jasmine rice and it was a homerun at the kitchen table!! Easy, fast and prepped in under 15 minutes. Did not add celery by mistake and added black and red beans for color. Also added my own canned tomatoes from the garden. In my recipe box for future chili nights :) It's a great base recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have made this many, many times. I adjust according to my taste as do most people, but a couple of things I add that I love are chipotle peppers with a little adobo and liquid smoke when I brown the meat. Sooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. I thought it was the perfect amount of spicy, but you can always add more if you like it that way. Perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Family loved it and not too spicy - just enough kick. My teenaged daughter even asked me to pack it for her lunch the next day. Liked the simplicity of recipe that besides cooking beef, all other ingredients thrown in together at the same time to cook. Made it exactly as is - other then cooked on medium heat for half hour with pot uncovered to thicken it. Just FYI, leave the tomato juice - don't substitute. It has a very high vitamin C content - another great way to sneak vitamins in your family's food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Spices are great in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I started this recipe as a base but then ended up changing up the ingredients. I added a can of corn to it, minus'd the peppers, celery, and exchanged the onion with 1 Tbsp of minced onion. I also minus'd the red beans, added chili beans and kidney beans. I added Hunt's whole tomatoes and Rotel diced tomatoes and chilies. I used a 1/4 tsp of chili powder instead of 1/4 cup but wished I used a bit more. Thanks for giving me a start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cormama

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I would agree with others that this is some of the best chili I've had. It's also easy. We switched out crushed tomatoes & diced tomatoes for the tomato juice & sauce as others suggested and also skipped the celery. We did 1/2 kidney & 1/2 black beans and used real garlic instead of garlic powder. Delish over a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Best chili ever! The seasonings are perfect just as directed in the recipe. Didn't change a thing except used crushed tomatoes instead of tomato juice. Awesome recipe. Chili contest winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Blakeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Best chili recipe EVER. Great flavor, love the vegetable juice. I added just a smidge more salt and added all the spices to the meat and beans before the liquid so everything would be coated. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I make this a few times a month during the cooler months. If you try this, be warned that you probably won't ever make a different chili recipe ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States