Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly except for one, sorta big, exception. Instead of ground beef I used beef tongue. I'm sure that sounds off-putting to a lot of people but we love beef tongue in this house. This made a very flavorful mild chili. Next time, will make some changes to heat it up a bit. Very good base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Have made this several times and it's always delicious and easy. We do substitute 2 29-oz cans of stewed tomatoes (that we chop up) instead of the tomato juice, so there are chunks of tomato in the chili. That also makes it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
True story-- I live in Texas, have several times made this chili totally vegan, entered it in "regular" ("carnivore") chili competitions, and taken home ribbons, including 1st place. I used Boca crumbles once (browned in olive oil first to add that greasy chili component) and cheap TVP the next, so zero cholesterol or animal protein in it so we can avoid the diabetes and heart disease so common in our meat-obsessed society now. Everywhere I take this, people rave, and nobody believes it's all vegan. I wait till I got the ribbon before telling everyone there wasn't a spec of meat in it. It's cooking up in the slow cooker right now, and I'm going to wow more people tomorrow at my new job. I, like other users, also changed the tomato juice to tomato sauce, and the tomato sauce to diced tomatoes. Other than that, and getting rid of the animal flesh for stuff that lets me eat till I almost burst without gaining an ounce, the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antonialeigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is my "go to" chili recipe. It's a Wendy's type of chili. Just much better! Prepared as written first time. Excellent! (I now cut the cayenne pepper down a smidge...personal preference.) Thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! So many people ask me to make this when I invite them over for dinner. I didn't change a thing besides letting it simmer in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours rather than in a pot on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
We used this recipe as the base for a veggie chili by using tvp instead of the beef and it turned out great. A few changes included heaping and doubling the spices (minus salt and sugar) and adding extra beans. Added extra veggies and used fresh garlic (2 cloves) in place of the garlic powder. I know, significant changes, but the basic elements are in place in this recipe and the tomato bases were in good amounts and the directions simple. Have saved the recipe and will do it again (maybe adding some canned/stew tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Easy and super-good. Like many others, I switched out tomato sauce for the tomato juice, and diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce. Other than that, followed it to the letter. Really, really good. My husband had THREE servings last night, and then took the balance to work for lunch today. A bonafide keeper and hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Jaded 8/25/14 used ground turkey and canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Best chili Ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We make this chili several times a year and it is always a hot with our family and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States