Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is a good, basic chili recipe. It makes a ton of chili though. It was more than a family of four could eat in a few days with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is by far the easiest and one of the best Chili recipes I have used. My entire family loves it and ask to make for all football games.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Recipe is PERFECT the way it is. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Best chili recipe (and I've tried quite a few). I had to improvise with ingredients on hand: 16 oz tomato sauce, 8 oz can of seasoned diced tomatoes, and 1 can of Dr. Pepper (my husband drinks the stuff by the case). Everything else as listed. I also premix all the dry herbs in a small bowl before adding to the main mixture. I prepared it in my slow cooker and let's just say the batch didn't make it till dinnertime. After my boys caught a whiff aout 3 hours in, they were dishing themselves out bowls, and it was all gone before dinnertime. Next time I'll double the batch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent. Picky children love it. Very basic you can adjust it to your preference. My daughter who does not ask for recipes or home makes anything requested this recipe from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
For a spur of the moment decision this came out great! I tweaked it a little based on what I had handy, halving the recipe (I'm one person...I can't eat chili for 10 days..) and adding diced tomatoes with jalapanos in place of the tomato juice. I like my chili more solid than soupy :) Used leftover frozen onions (didn't measure) and green peppers (didn't measure those either) and left out the celery because I didn't have any. Came out great though--easy recipe to remember the next time I'm in the store and an older gentleman says "Today is football day!!" and I think to myself..hey...chili sounds good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This very easy to make and it tasted great! I cooked this in my crockpot - 2 hours on high and 2 hours on low. The flavors merged beautifully. I realized too late that I didn't have any cumin so I substituted 1 tsp paprika and 1 tsp ground thyme - weird, I know, but it actually worked well. My husband likes a very meaty chili, so I used almost 3 lbs meat, 2-48 oz cans crushed tomatoes and 1 can tomato paste. For the beans, I followed another user's suggestion and did 1 can chili beans and 1 can kidney beans. I have very happy with how it turned out - especially without cumin. My husband was happy and ended up having 3 servings for dinner! Oh, I did not think it was spicy at all. A little warmth on the backend, so there is a lot of wiggle room for more heat options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Easy to make, doubled the recipe. Lots of compliments and not a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Bruce
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Just made this and would highly suggest it! So delicious! ! Only thing I did a little differently was put a small can of tomato paste to thicken it up a little and added just a bit more sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Bruce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States