Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Excellent! When I cook, one of my favorite things to do is to try things that I've never thought of but seem just crazy enough to work. Doesn't always pan out, but I took Danny Jaye's tip on using peach Jello powder - and it's awesome!! Cooked these 5 minutes per side, and the rub was enough to cover 3lbs. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
It is really a shame that people who simply did not care for the cut of beef suggested by the person who submitted this recipe gave this a low rating because the rub itself is fantastic. The blend of the brown sugar and the 3 pepper flavors is phenominal. If you do not care for flank steak or flat iron...just use a different cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I created this recipe and just wanted to offer a different spin on it. Replace the brown sugar with peach jello powder, sounds weird but gives a nice back flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Jaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Excellent & easy. This tastes as good as any pricey restaurant steak. Thanks for the great recipe. Grilling tip: leave the meat out of the fridge for about 30 min before grilling. It's easier to get the level of doneness you want this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Just finished eating a flat iron steak with this rub on it ... FANTASTIC!! We'll be eating these as one of our summer staple items ... I have nothing bad to say about this recipe ... I *may* spice it up just a bit more with some crushed red pepper flakes because we like our food quite spicy ... but other than that, this is really worth the time and effort .. you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Wow, delicious and easy. I tenderized the steaks after I'd applied the rub and they were phenominal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Excellent & easy! I put this rub on a flank steak the night before I served it and it gave the a great spicy flavor without being overpowering. I look forward to trying this rub on other cuts of beef as well as on some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I've never reviewed a recipe on here before, but this recipe definitely warrants a review. I cut the salt in half and used white pepper instead of reg. pepper for more kick. I made two types of steaks: one with this rub, and one with a beer marinade. Would you believe the the ones with the dry rub were more tender? Excellent rub with an excellent kick! I used a charcoal grill with hickory chips. Definitely the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Yum! Loved it. I seared and broiled the steak as I can't figure out my barbeque :) Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States