Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I created this recipe and just wanted to offer a different spin on it. Replace the brown sugar with peach jello powder, sounds weird but gives a nice back flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Jaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Excellent! When I cook, one of my favorite things to do is to try things that I've never thought of but seem just crazy enough to work. Doesn't always pan out, but I took Danny Jaye's tip on using peach Jello powder - and it's awesome!! Cooked these 5 minutes per side, and the rub was enough to cover 3lbs. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Excellent & easy. This tastes as good as any pricey restaurant steak. Thanks for the great recipe. Grilling tip: leave the meat out of the fridge for about 30 min before grilling. It's easier to get the level of doneness you want this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Just finished eating a flat iron steak with this rub on it ... FANTASTIC!! We'll be eating these as one of our summer staple items ... I have nothing bad to say about this recipe ... I *may* spice it up just a bit more with some crushed red pepper flakes because we like our food quite spicy ... but other than that, this is really worth the time and effort .. you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I used this recipe tonight. I think it's a pretty good recipe but much too salty for our taste. Everyone at dinner said it was good but way too salty. If I use this again I'll cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Wow, delicious and easy. I tenderized the steaks after I'd applied the rub and they were phenominal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
The rub in this recipe is wonderful and can be used on many types of meat. However I do not care for the cut of meat. I believe I will stick to the better cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
It is really a shame that people who simply did not care for the cut of beef suggested by the person who submitted this recipe gave this a low rating because the rub itself is fantastic. The blend of the brown sugar and the 3 pepper flavors is phenominal. If you do not care for flank steak or flat iron...just use a different cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Excellent & easy! I put this rub on a flank steak the night before I served it and it gave the a great spicy flavor without being overpowering. I look forward to trying this rub on other cuts of beef as well as on some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States