Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent rub! Made exactly as written and used it on grilled flat iron and flank steaks. Perfect amount of spice and can't wait to eat the leftovers. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I do not eat steak, but I am always looking for good steak recipes to fix for my husband. I used this rub on a flat iron steak for him, and chicken for me. My husband loved his steak, and my chicken was pretty good as well! I did not have the onion powder or the chipotle chili powder, but we did not really miss those ingredients. We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love flat irons so I was looking forward to this recipe. It was good but the chilli powder was over powering everything else. I'll try again but cut the chilli powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccountry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I enjoyed the recipe. I followed it EXACTLY as written ........ not amazing but good. I'm familiar with grilling Flank so this was my first venture into Flat Iron Steaks..... quite a savings and very tasty. The rub wasn't that prominent and nothing dramatically better than many commercial blends of rubs. I may still try the Peach Jello option in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Tasted like taco seasoning on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I would give this five stars, but I made a few changes so I thought I should not rate this a 5 since I didn't really make this exactly. What I did was mix as directed, except that I cut down on the salt by half, and omitted onion and chipotle powders becacuse I didn't have those, and instead used extra cumin and added a hot curry blend. I also subbed molasses instead of brown sugar, again necessity. Lastly, I used a sirloin, bone-in steak. But honestly, with all that - it was FABULOUS! I plan to keep this in as a common rub for beef - it was just phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great, simple, southwestern taste. I didn't have chilpotle pepper or onion powder. I used minced onion instead. Came out great. We used the rub also on chicken breast tenders and bbq. My family really enjoyed both the steak and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
The rub is fabulous. I have used it on other meats and it has been wonderful on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Yum! Loved it. I seared and broiled the steak as I can't figure out my barbeque :) Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States