Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Wow!!! Used with a London Broil and it was sheer heaven. Didn't have time to marinate long (30 min.) and pan-fried instead of grilled but it was probably the best rub I've ever tasted. I used the peach jello substitute recommended by Danny Jaye and it really gave a unique flavor. Leftovers were divine on a hoagie roll with horseradish sauce. Plan to make a large batch of this rub and give in small jars as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Great rub recipe! This is the first time that I ever made a flat iron steak. The only thing that I changed was that I didn't have chipotle chile powder so I just omitted it. I don't like things that spicy anyway. I grilled the steak and it looked as if it was going to be really dry but after letting it rest for about 10 minutes, it was out of this world. The flavor was better than any store bought rub could have been and it was almost as tender as a filet. My family will definitely be having this many more times. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My husband really liked it. I thought it was ok. Leftovers would probably be really good in a sandwich or pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Excellent! One piece of advice, use rubber gloves to rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I doubled the recipe and made it twice over a couple of weeks. I rubbed it into the meat early in the day and let kept it in the fridge several hours before cooking. The only problem was that I should have cooked more so my family wouldn't fight over the last bits of meat. What an easy way to dress up an inexpensive cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow! I followed the recipe just as written and it was AMAZING!!! My hubby couldn't stop eating the steak and he kept raving that it was restaurant quality. I plan to make this next time we have company over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I used about 1 tsp of this on two chicken breasts (and saved the reast for later use), and they turned out awesome! Suprisingly moist, too. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because my fiance thought it lacked flavour. I thought it was awesome and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
What a fantastic rub! I did modify it a tad since we love hot and spicy. I added 1/2 tsp cayenne and some crushed red pepper flakes. My guests and I loved it on the flat iron steak and I cannot wait to try it on other cuts. I think this would be great on pork and chicken as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was by far the best steak on the grill I had, short of teryiaki steak which is my personal favorite. For someone who prefers thin, well done steaks, it can't get any better than this. We will most likely only have these two from now on! so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Really good! I had to make a couple of substitutions. I didn't have chipotle chili powder, so I used a half teaspoon of cayenne instead. And I used onion salt instead of onion powder. Next time, I'll cut back on the salt overall. But this was very tender and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States