Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I used this recipe with mock tenderloin steaks, without the chipotle chili powder that I didn't have, and only let it sit about 1/2 an hour, and it still turned out amazing! I can't wait to try it when I have everything right. The only thing I changed on purpose is the chili powder amount because I do not like heat - and 1 teaspoon was just right to add flavor. Thanks for sharing - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is very falvorful and nice and spicy. I rubbed 3 thin cut top loin steaks with this about 8 hours before I cooked them. I cooked them in a hot cast iron skillet for about 4 minutes per side and they came out wonderful. The next night, I used the leftover rub to make chicken for quesadillas, again it was a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Willcox, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this with flank steak. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
It was an ok rub but not phenomenal for my taste. Only my opinion though, try it for yourself you may like it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This turned out great. I was missing one spice ingrediant but it was still awesome. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This rub is EXCELLENT. I used it on a new york strip steak and grilled the steak indoors on a grill pan - yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This rub kicks up flat iron to gold. Made it for the Lady of my life and she loved it, got me a five star kiss. I did not have chipotle chile powder on hand so I used ground Cayenne. Used this rub on chicken breast too! A great marinate that yeilds lip smacking smiles and most likely a kiss for the chief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
We love this rub! I never have the chipotle chile powder in the hosue, so my rub goes without that, but even witrhout it, this rub is delicious. I use it on chicken, pork, and beef. (Oddly enough, I haven't used it on flat iron steaks yet.) The smoked paprika gives it such a nice flavor. This rub recipe deserves to be posted by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have smoked paprika, so used regular paprika, and cut the chipotle in half only because we were having spicy side dishes. I applied the rub then marinated in the fridge for about six hours. The steak was EXTREMELY moist, which isn't always the case with a rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I cannot find flat iron steaks locally (Long Island), but found them in Ohio (Kroger) this past week during a family visit and brought some home in a cooler. Decided to try this recipe and am so glad I did! I used all of the rub on a 2 lb. flat iron steak that I cut in half (to grill quicker) prior to seasoning. We all loved rub! After letting the meat rest covered for 10 minutes, I sliced the beef on an angle against the grain. It was cooked a bit less than medium and so tender and full of flavor. A definite keeper in this house! Thankfully I bought 3 steaks and still have 2 more to enjoy! When I've used them up, I will definitely try this rub on other cuts of beef that I can get locally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States