Flat Iron Steak with Three Pepper Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a good rub. Be sure to use smoked paprika, not regular sweet paprika, it makes a huge difference. Also I didn't "marinate" mine because I don't see how on earth dry spices could possibly penetrate the meat without an acid, and I still thought this was 5 star. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
The rub is really flavorful, but too salty, I use less than 1/4 the salt called for. We've used the rub on flank steak, chicken and pork tenderloin, marinate overnight when you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I make this all the time - i add about 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the mix along with a bit of olive oil to make a paste - just enough to make the spices stick together. You also have to be careful when grilling to make sure spices don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Great southwest flavor! great on the steaks, can't wait to try it on chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
super easy and loved by the 2 carnivores at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I LOOOVE this recipe! I didnt have onion powder and used regular chili powser instead. Also, I used it on sirloin steak and taste just as great! I had some Jack Daniels lying around, and poured about 3/4 of a shot onto the steak to condense the flavors. It turned out really well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Amazing! I put the rub on the steaks overnight (easier to do it before bed than before work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I took my jaccard tenderizer to it on both sides then sprinkled with the rub as listed. I had a 2 lb cut and it was at least 1 inch thick so I knew it would take longer than reccomended to cook. It marinaded all night and into the next evening when I brought it out to sit on the counter for 1/2 an hour. Brought grill up to 600 (hot) slapped the meat on and brought her down to med-high around 505-515 degrees for 6 mins on the first side and flipped. It took about another 9 mins to bring the thing up to 143 internal temp (near instant read thermometer). Took it off and foil tented for 5 mins and it was still pretty warm so I put it on the cutting board and let rest another 5 mins. Diagnal cross grain slices produced excellent medium cooked yummyness! Only thing, a little too spicy for my daughter (7 YO) who is a total spice wimp. Thankfully, I made an extra double batch of the rub for whatever comes next! Very good! Oh, the chipolte chili powder cost me like 7 bucks but MMMMMM good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Just finished scarfing down this great recipe! Both my husband and I loved it! I found it had a little spiciness, but not overwhelming at all. It had an amazing flavor! I only let it marinate for 2 hours, which makes me wonder how it would have tasted if i marinated for 5 or more hours! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I used this recipe with mock tenderloin steaks, without the chipotle chili powder that I didn't have, and only let it sit about 1/2 an hour, and it still turned out amazing! I can't wait to try it when I have everything right. The only thing I changed on purpose is the chili powder amount because I do not like heat - and 1 teaspoon was just right to add flavor. Thanks for sharing - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States