Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Delicious! Purely by circumstance, I had the steak seasoned and ended up not being able to cook it that night so it sat covered in the fridge for a day and a half so the pepper flavor in the meat was excellent! I'll do it intentionally next time. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I don't eat meat, but this was loved and devoured by my gang! I did this just a tad differently in that I reduced the balsamic in a separate sauce pan which ended up taking about a half hour to get to that sweet, syrupy stage. Once the meat was done and sliced I drizzled on the sauce. Rave reviews in this house Kmommyz and everyone here sends a hearty thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used dried parsley, I added it during the "vinegar reduction" phase. It works if you don't have fresh parsley. Also, I added onion slices. Cook them at the very last with the "vinegar reduction."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I just cooked a regular cheap steak from the grocery store... but it was delicious!! Instead of slicing the steak, I made the reduction ahead of time, and used it as a dipping sauce so the steak wouldn't dry out. Also, I cooked the reduction a little longer until it was quite sweet, and it paired well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was outstanding! I experienced no complaints with a too vinegary tasting reduction. If cooked properly, this should be exactly as desribed in KMOMMYZ's description, "a sweet & savory syrup". The key is to reduce it to a thick syrup consistency. I also used only 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We LOVED this recipe - but we also love balsamic vinegar. I wouldn't try it unless you feel the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was really good. We served it as a main dish, but I think next time I will make more of the balsamic reduction and put the meat on top of a cobb salad. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Delicious Delicious Delicious!!!! I made this with a simple green salad and oh my word!!! We all loved it! The pepper really added zest to the steak and that reduction...I can't wait to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
this was wonderful. Next time though i will use a bettter quality balasmic vinegar. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
very easy to make. I don't recommend this unless you love garlic & vinegar. It looks pretty plated w/ steamed asparagus & cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States