Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I tried this with a sirloin steak and it was okay. I added a bit extra garlic. I didn't know what else to do, the sauce/reduction was okay, not stellar by any means. I used a good quality B. Vinegar so I was a bit upset I wasted it but oh well, it sounded good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Delicious Delicious Delicious!!!! I made this with a simple green salad and oh my word!!! We all loved it! The pepper really added zest to the steak and that reduction...I can't wait to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This steak was pretty good, I forgot to add the parsley but my husband didn't notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowwolf

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Really good and easy! 4 minutes on each side wasn't quite long enough for us, but I did have rather large steaks. Thanks for the recipe - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I must say the balsamic vineagar is very strong, almost too strong for the meat. I added mushrooms and onions to the vineagar mix which ended up being the best part. I also agree with another reviewer, four minutes on each side isn't enough...of course it does depend on the thickness of the steak. I served this with baked potatoes and putting the balsamic mixture/onions/mushrooms/ was the best part. I'm not ready to give up on this recipe, but it needs some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipejunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very delicious but I would be careful not too over do it with the pepper. Mine turned out a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
this was wonderful. Next time though i will use a bettter quality balasmic vinegar. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe is for black pepper lovers only!!! If yopu like a great seasoned steak try this. Use the salad spritzers balsalmic vinegrete spray or salad dressing as your marinade. season with mccormicks grillmates hamburger seasoning it has the best mix for steak we have found. than cook to your liking. there is no wasting of exspensive oils or anything. but the taste is simply awesume!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
this was good. i seared and cooked the steak, removed from the pan and sauteed shallots and garlic for a minute or so. after pouring in the balsamic vinegar, i added about a half cup of coarsely chopped grape tomatoes. cooked that for about 15 minutes, and then pressed on the tomatoes with a spatula so they'd give up their juices. reduced a bit more, then strained through cheese cloth. used some of the reduction for a salad dressing, used the rest as directed. simple, elegant dish. the reduction is quite pungent, but sweet and compliments a rare steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My family really liked this recipe. Instead of pouring the sauce over I put it into dipping cups. My husband isn't a big fan of vinegar so he didn't use his and still loved the steak. Definitely will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States