Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Everyone who I've had eat this has loved it, including quite a few picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I just cooked a regular cheap steak from the grocery store... but it was delicious!! Instead of slicing the steak, I made the reduction ahead of time, and used it as a dipping sauce so the steak wouldn't dry out. Also, I cooked the reduction a little longer until it was quite sweet, and it paired well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was really good. We served it as a main dish, but I think next time I will make more of the balsamic reduction and put the meat on top of a cobb salad. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was outstanding! I experienced no complaints with a too vinegary tasting reduction. If cooked properly, this should be exactly as desribed in KMOMMYZ's description, "a sweet & savory syrup". The key is to reduce it to a thick syrup consistency. I also used only 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
We used New York Strip Steak instead of Flat Iron, and the spicing was great! Unfortunately, I followed the heating instructions for the balsamic reduction and I turned it into tar!! Fortunately, the recipe calls for them to be cooked separate, if not my steak would've been ruined! Careful with how hot your pan is... it was smelling so good, but a little too vinegary for my fiance's taste, so possibly cutting back the vinegar next time. But either way, it's a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
have made the sauce and used it on grilled chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
made this last night for dinner and it was great! used filets instead...will definitely make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was just ok. I 1/2ed the recipe and covered the steaks in the oil, then lightly sprinkled the pepper on top--didn't want to make them too spicy. My hubby grilled the steak while I prepared the basalmic reduction on the stove. It sounded great but tasted so-so. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
we used really thick ribeye steaks and followed the same directions. AMAZING!! we used one suggestion and added cherry tomato halves towards the end of the reducing. (we smooched them first to get extra water out). yes, very balsamic-y, but we love that. we used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antwerpianer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Good recipe with great flavor. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYMPLES805

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States