Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I must say the balsamic vineagar is very strong, almost too strong for the meat. I added mushrooms and onions to the vineagar mix which ended up being the best part. I also agree with another reviewer, four minutes on each side isn't enough...of course it does depend on the thickness of the steak. I served this with baked potatoes and putting the balsamic mixture/onions/mushrooms/ was the best part. I'm not ready to give up on this recipe, but it needs some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipejunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Delicious Delicious Delicious!!!! I made this with a simple green salad and oh my word!!! We all loved it! The pepper really added zest to the steak and that reduction...I can't wait to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe is for black pepper lovers only!!! If yopu like a great seasoned steak try this. Use the salad spritzers balsalmic vinegrete spray or salad dressing as your marinade. season with mccormicks grillmates hamburger seasoning it has the best mix for steak we have found. than cook to your liking. there is no wasting of exspensive oils or anything. but the taste is simply awesume!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I don't eat meat, but this was loved and devoured by my gang! I did this just a tad differently in that I reduced the balsamic in a separate sauce pan which ended up taking about a half hour to get to that sweet, syrupy stage. Once the meat was done and sliced I drizzled on the sauce. Rave reviews in this house Kmommyz and everyone here sends a hearty thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great dish. Both my husband and I loved it. It has great flavor and is attractive enough for guests. To achieve a fabulous sauce, it is essential to reduce the sauce to a thick syrup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I tried this with a sirloin steak and it was okay. I added a bit extra garlic. I didn't know what else to do, the sauce/reduction was okay, not stellar by any means. I used a good quality B. Vinegar so I was a bit upset I wasted it but oh well, it sounded good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I will certainly make this again. I made this per the recipe but I recommend brushing the steak with olive oil and coating with peppercorns and salt then let it sit in the fridge for an hour or more prior to cooking. I have made several pepper steaks and I find that letting them "marinate" for some time helps. The balsamic vinegar sure smelled potent during and directly after cooking but it tasted just fine on the steak. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good. As another reviewer mentioned, the quality of balsamic is important. I have often found that low ratings in a recipe such as this one are usually because of the vinegar being used. It's simply one ingredient worth paying for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was very easy and fast. I think the "too vinegary" reviews may have been caused by not allowing the balsamic to reduce enough, because it was very sweet tasting if allowed to reduce about as much as the recipe says (by 1/2). I used 3/4C of balsamic like other reviewers, so perhaps that was it. Anyway, very easy and good weeknight dinner with sweet potatoes and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Really good and easy! 4 minutes on each side wasn't quite long enough for us, but I did have rather large steaks. Thanks for the recipe - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States