Flat Iron Steak and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Wow, I was looking for a way to use my chicken and spinach, and found this recipe, and I thought if I marinated my chicken in italian dressing, that would work instead of the steak. But, as I prepared my sauce, I realized I had no mushrooms or bell pepper. I decided to give it a go anyway, and oh my word, just the red onion (and 3 small cloves garlic) in the sauce, and it was incredible! The wine and the sweetness of the red onion when it cooked down worked so well together. I used fresh asiago and a little fresh tomato between the chicken and spinach (which I didn't wilt since the dressing was still simmering when I poured it on the spinach), then topped it with some green onion...It was so easy and looked beautiful, and tasted phenominal! I can't wait to do it right with steak and blue cheese! What a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Ohhh so delicious....my first time making flat iron steak and it was a success. Even my family really liked this. OK....so I made a little deviation from the recipe....I grilled my peppers, red onion, and portabello mushrooms, and reduced the dressing and wine mixture seperately. I used a little evoo, salt and pepper on the meat and grilled. Plated the salad, added the sliced grilled veggies, topped with the steak, crumbled blue cheese and the dressing....and a few crutons. What a meal! The steak was tender and juicy, and it was just all around a satisfying dinner....will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great. I made this for lunch for my husband and he really enjoyed it. We both felt like it was asking for chopped walnuts, so I added some later. I used my favorite Safeway-brand Tuscan Basil salad dressing, which turned out awesome with the wine (Cab Sauv). The success of this recipe is going to depend a lot on what kind of dressing you use - so make sure it's one you love. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was great! After removing the peppers, onions and mushrooms from the pan there wasn't really any dressing left even though I used a slotted spoon as directed. So, I mixed the wine and a 1/4 cup dressing in a small sauce pan and simmered 'till syrupy as the recipe calls for. Next time though I will let the dressing settle first and remove most of the oil as the wine sauce was a little oily (I used Robusto Italian by Kraft). Also, I will wilt the spinach just barely before topping with everything else. The blue cheese was amazing on here and the cooked veggies were a nice change. Will make again with those 2 changes! Thanks for the recipe! Oh, and before plating I thought the wine sauce tasted a little odd but it was delicious once on the salad and mixed with everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
We liked this salad a lot. Made it "as is" on the recipe with the exception of instead of using salt and pepper, we used the Montreal Steak seasoning and did a rub. I think it would not have had as much flavor without it. Good salad- especially for those of you looking to watch your weight, good alternative to some of the other "diet" foods. Leftovers were good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. Restaurant quality. I will definitely eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
very tasty ... feels elegant. husband isnt usually a main dish salad guy ... but loved it. might add nuts or something else for a little crunch next time.. that is the only thing i thought was missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this one! I made a few substitutions...I used some roasted red peppers and instead of olive oil I used my Italian dressing and then just added a tiny bit more red wine at the end! It was light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This hearty dinner salad was excellent! The flavors go very well together,big hit with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Really good!! The only thing I changed was I used crumbled goat cheese instead of blue cheese since I also grilled scallops along with the steak since I don't eat steak. My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States