Flat Iron, Grilled Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very tender with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Mmmm! Flat Irons are so good and this rub was very flavorful and tasted great. I like a spicy/salty flavor so I cut the brown sugar in half but otherwise made as directed. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a really good seasoning for this steak. First time we have ever tried flat iron steak and I have to say, if you can't have ribeye, this is pretty darn good! It was tender and the seasoning gave it a really good taste. I could not grill on the grill, so I just cooked in the oven slowly. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Wow! My hubby took one bite into this steak and went berzerk -- he declared it the BEST fajita meat he'd ever eated. It was *that* good. The only variation I made to the recipe was to decrease the brown sugar by half. Other than that, the only thing I did differently was to "grill" it in the oven @ 400 for about 20 minutes on a panini grill, rather than cooking it outside. Although this recipe is not designated a "fajita" recipe, we found the flatiron steak with this marinade worked perfectly for that. Thanks for this -- we highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
We've used this recipe numerous times. It makes a delicious flat iron steak! The only change we make is in the cooking method. We still sear the steak on each side. But instead of moving it to the oven, we turn down the heat on the grill to about medium and cook for an additional 4-6 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very nice flavor .... but grills vary in temperature so, for me, this timing resulted in rare beef. Next time I will cook it on the grill 4 to 5 minutes per side then into the 400 oven for 10 minutes. the Flat Iron beef is really a great choice and is quite tender but must be seared to seal in the flavors and should be served at least medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Flat Iron Steak is cut from the shoulder of a steer and is the second most tender cut after the tenderloin. It is often described as having both the tenderness of a ribeye or strip steak while still having the full-flavored character of a sirloin or skirt steak. It has a large band of connective tissue running down the center that must be removed - hopefully by your butcher. Searing steak on the grill or stovetop (in the right size pan) and finishing in the oven is a very common method of preparation. Finishing the steak in the oven prevented the wonderful crust on the steak from burning on the grill. Excellent recipe, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is the same recipe I use minus the lime juice. Must be that 71759 doesn't know how to cook a flat iron steak. Never had one that was tough. The trick to cooking flat iron steaks is low heat and turn often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
The rub was okay, But the first reveiwer as never had a real "flat iron" steak. I have never had a tough one... Ask your butcher for a true flat iron, and you will not be let down. These are one of the most tender steaks I've ever eaten....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I am giving two stars to the rub, but flat iron steak is tough and will stay tough. And the cooking times will give you a very well done steak. Finishing the cooking in the oven ? One more recipe here that makes NO sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States