Flat Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
These turned out wonderful! The only changes I made were to leave out the onion and I used 3/4 c milk instead of 3/4 c broth. I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is comfort food at its finest! The flavor of these dumplings is amazing, which warranted my 4-star rating. However, I agree with other reviewers that the dough was super sticky. I could not roll out the dough, no matter how much extra flour I used. I ended up dropping the dough by pinched handfuls into the boiling broth. They turned out excellent and full of flavor! Hint: If you don't like extremely doughy/thick dumplings, you need to pinch off very small amounts of dough to drop into the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I don't know if I did something wrong but these did not come out with any kind of consistency for rolling out, the batter was very sticky (as my 2-year-old described it, egg-gloppy.) So I dropped it in by spoonfuls. The dumplings did have a nice flavor, but they were pretty gummy even at the point when they were as done as they were going to get. May try again, but I was a little disappointed in them tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
What went wrong? I followed the Recipie! They turned out flat, gummy, tough and DISSAPPOINTING!!!! Next time I'm trying baking soda instead of baking powder. I will defenantly look at some other recipies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I think the term flat dumpling is somewhat misleading in this recipe. These really are flat heavy biscuits, not dumplings. For those who appreciate the heaviness and chewy texture, these are quite flavorful. Those looking for a nice traditional fluffy dumpling to have with their chicken, I suggest trying a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These dumplings tasted good...but they were way too sticky to roll out. I added a lot of extra flour, and even then I ended up just "pinching" them off and dropping them in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These dumplings were amazing and so low in fat! Instead of flat dumplings, I dropped them by very small spoonfuls into the pot bearing in mind that they are dense so keeping them small allows them to cook in the same timeframe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I very seldom leave a review but I felt this deserved one. This is by far the best dumplings I have ever made. I have tried many other recipes and this one is the best! The dumplings have an awesome flavor and consistency and they definitely made an excellent pot of chicken and dumplings. They are meant to be rolled out flat but you will have to use a lot of flour for dusting the dough as you roll them out avoid having the dough stick to your roller. I then used a pizza cutter to cut them into squares rather then circles, I find that to be much easier. Thank you so much for a recipe that my entire family loved so much. There were none leftover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I agree that the term 'flat' is misleading, perhaps 'drop noodles' would suit most. My Grandaddy calls them Sinkers. :) Anyhow, this is the same basic recipe I have used for years and was taught by my mother. Real old, real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
the only ones I'll ever make!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States