Flank Steak with Garlic Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
...This was awesome!!!!...I too added 1/2 cup of mushrooms and 1 can of the beef broth. It takes 45 min or so to reduce the wine sauce, and that is boiling it on high the entire time, so allow for this. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
We really loved this. Once the meat was out of the pan it was difficult to keep it warm without over cooking it. So, I cooked the meat a bit less and after the sauce was complete returned the meat to the pan to finish cooking it. It was a great way to cover the meat with the delicious sauce. It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Excellent!!! I also added a can of beef broth and about a cup of mushrooms. Absolutely wonderful. I accidently started it all before realizing my beef was bad, and used chicken instead, and it was still very good. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkhas
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Yum, yum, yum! We all LOVED this. I didn't find it tough at all. It's important to slice thinly against the grain. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I really love this recipe. The sauce is great, simple and savory tasting. I cooked medium rare and made extra sauce and served over mashed potatoes. This recipe is really easy, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
My Boyfriend loved this so much that he invited his friends over to have me cook. Although I changed the recipe a little, I did not have any red wine so I used white Zinfandel. It worked really well. I also use garlic powder. I cooked it the correct way once and it was good but my boyfriend liked it better with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This was a great recipe, thanks so much. My husband really enjoyed it and he hates it when I cook with wine, but he keeps asking me when we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Great dish, very easy to make. I cooked the steak a little longer because my husband does not like rare meat. It was still pink and very tender. Was even better the next night for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This was good. The sauce had a different taste than what I expected, but still good. I did use a better cut of meat (all I had on hand), and I think that helped a bit. We will try again, but I do think I might tinker with spices to get a more flavorful dish. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Surprise, my picky 11 year old loved it. My other daughter and husband also raved about it. Like others, I added beef broth and mushrooms to the sauce. I also cooked my flank steak some more in the oven, since I hate any red looking meat. I liked this recipe. My only complaint was it was salty to me but that could of been the cooking wine I used plus the broth. Anyway, it will be made again in my home because it went over well and was simple to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States