Flank Steak with Garlic Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this yesterday evening for my daughter and I. It turned out great, except next time I think I will use less salt. The directions are a little confusing in that you begin by saying to brown the steak for a minute on each side on medium heat, and then reduce the heat and continue cooking 3 1/2 minutes more on each side. Next time I will start out at higher heat and reduce to medium because this did not brown starting on medium. I also think I will cook it less time after browning, since while it is being kept warm when you cook the sauce, it continues to cook. Overall we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family absolutely LOVES this! Even my picky kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My family loves flank steak. I slather on crushed garlic, fresh pepper, and some kosher salt then grill or broil until barely medium rare. A reviewer mentioned that it is hard to keep the meat warm. I have found that if I put it on the lowest rack of my oven, have broil on low, and keep the door slightly ajar, the meat rests wonderfully and still stays warm (since I cook it slightly less than medium rare) while I complete any finishing touches to the meal. I slice it at the last minute before serving. Really, I was going for something a little different by adding this sauce recipe, so I can't rate the steak portion of the recipe. My whole family loved the sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I'm still trying to figure out why this is rated so high. Is it just my taste-buds absolutely turned off by the flavors that others find so appealing? I love trying new recipes and flavors. This just was gross. The flavors didn't go together...green onion, roasted garlic...with the wine. Everything was done according to the recipe; even the extra time waiting for the sauce to thicken (flour isn't necessary...it thickens, you just have to be patient!). I saved the rest of the steak, great flavor there with salt, pepper and butter... the sauce was just awful and has been disposed of. Save your wine for drinking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was SOOOOO good. I was so impressed I couldnt believe that I had made it myself. I had never made steak before, but decided to make it for my boyfriends 19th birthday. I used two sirloin steaks (traders joes, 8$ for two!). I included beef broth and sliced button mushrooms into the wine sauce, and didn't really measure any of it, just eye balled it and would add more wine or more brooth as I tasted. Just do it to your own liking. I also made grilled onions (onions, butter and a little bit of brown sugar) and oven roasted potatoes (Ann Bergs Roasted new potatoes, using multi colored potatoes: red, yellow and purple.) I also used merlot as suggested. It was so so wonderful and I cant wait to make it again! I highly highly suggest this because it is better then I have EVER had in a resturant, and WAYYY less expensive and so satisfying. I hope it works out well for everyone! If I can make it in my first apartment, away from home and with limited supplies, then it cant be that hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
We like this recipe but I believe there is a problem regarding roasting the garlic. I followed the instructions, and baked the oiled garlic at 400 degrees for 45 min. The most of the garlic buds were hard and yeiled very little pulp. I suggest lowering the temperature or the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Absolutely loved it. If you don't like a really pink center, cook a minute or two longer. Otherwise, tender & great flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent and easy. Husband said it was probably the best steak he had ever eaten. I may even double the sauce next time. My husband enjoyed it on his mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I like simple recipes, and this one is pretty basic - yet so tasty that my entire family gobbled it down. Even my 3-year old! The sauce was delicious and the meat tender. I will definitely make this again. I didn't make any changes, necessarily, except I forgot to buy scallions so made the recipe without them and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
TERRIFIC!!! and so easy too! Based on other reviews I added about 1/2 cup of mushrooms. I also fixed another bulb of garlic for a nice appetizer spread on melba toast. . . we'll have this again - and I can't wait to try the sauce with other cuts of beef. Thank you Warner Beatty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States