Flank Steak with Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was ok - the flavor combinations didn't work for me. Seasoning was Indian/African flavor and salsa was Mexican/southwest. I did reduce the amount cinnamon per the other reviews but it was still off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Amazing! Just like the top reviewer, I followed this recipe exactly to a T and it was so tasty. The rub had such a unique flavor to it that the whole family enjoyed! I think I might have been hogging the avocado salsa that's how tasty it was! Yum! Will definitely make again sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious! I just wish there had been more leftovers! I will make this again really soon. Perfect summer meal! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Broiled since I didn't have a grill, it was great! My husband said this was the best guac he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Spicy but super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I was unsure how it would turn out with the ingredients. I'm not a big cinnamon fan. And I'm used to marinating flank steak so it's tender. But this turn out juicy, tender, and super delicious. The first thing out my husbands mouth was "WOW! What ingredients did you use? I never could have made flank steak turn out so good!" He loved it, I loved it! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This grilled Flank-Steak-with-Avocado-Salsa recipe was delicious. Who knew that such a thick spice rub on a steak would resemble a "shaked'n'baked steak" (with a "crumb coating" of spices)? What is not obvious from the recipe is that the avocado salsa is more like a reasonably-sized side salad than a relish topping. This is a very important detail indeed because it made my usual side dish (a large salad) a terrible choice: a baked potato and grilled vegetables would have been much, much better. As I also learned from experience, this is not the dish to serve with wine: the lime marinade on the salsa does not go very well with wine. My only change to the recipe was to marinate the minced onion and garlic in the fresh lime juice with a tad of honey for 15 minutes to take out any possible "skunky onion or garlic tastes" before mixing them with the rest of the salsa ingredients. Thank you jensenly for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Yum! I thought I was in a Mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Terrible, I made it exactly as specified but made the mistake of putting the spice rub on the steak and then letting it sit in the fridge overnight instead of grilling it immediately. BAD idea, don't let it sit or all the spices absorb into the meat, making it taste awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We loved the flavor of the rub. Put it on a rib-eye we got on sale and it was fantastic. I am going to make a double batch and try it as seasoning on fish next time I make it. The avocado salsa was wonderful and we used the leftover on omlettes the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States