Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Served this flan to the family after a very spicy dinner of Chile Colorado and 6 of us ate 3/4 of the whole thing and then the kids fought over the last piece - it was delicious! Swapped out the evaporated milk for coconut milk, left the sugar out of the egg mixture, added 1 teaspoon of Mexican vanilla as previous reviewers have suggested. I put 1/4 cup water with the sugar for the caramel mixture - this will help control the sugar browning process. Poured the caramel into a preheated 10" x 1.5" round pyrex dish with straight sides. I cooked the flan in a water bath. Be sure not to use a good dish towel for this as it bled the color out of a good towel. Next time I may try it with out the water bath method as it adds a lot of work. Also I forgot to pre-heat the water for the water bath and this extended the time of cooking to almost 90 minutes! Once cooked I let cool for 15 minutes and then ran a knife around the outside edge. Since we were going to eat dinner in about 2 hours I put the flan in the freezer for about an hour and then moved to the refrigerator. After dinner (about 3 hours after the flan came out of the oven) I put a serving plate over the top of the pyrex dish and then inverted it so the flan came out on top of the serving dish and out of the pyrex. The caramel flowed beautifully over the top and down the sides - it looked perfect. Not only was I surprised how good it all came out, my family was equally impressed and I am now considered Chef Extrordinaire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
These were reminiscent of the Coconut Flan we had in Costa Rica last year. It turned out very well and was surprisingly easy. I used the coconut milk instead of the evaporated milk as other reviewers suggested. It turned out very smooth and the flavor of coconut was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this flan for a tropical party we had recently and it came out perfect! I was a little concerned that I had undercooked it but came out wonderful. I didn't change a thing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great Flan! My husband is Cuban and he says it's JUST like his mom makes ; ) I made a couple small modifications as well: I don't add the 1/2 cup sugar nor the 1/2 cup milk to the custard mix and I use only 5 eggs. Straining the mix through a fine mesh before baking makes the texture MUCH nicer......yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luka'sMum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
YUM! I made this for my Dad's B-day and everyone keeps asking me to make it again! This recipe is very similar to traditional family recipes I have tried before, but the coconut took it to another level. Since other reviews indicated that the coconut taste was mild I decided to use one cup of shredded coconut in in addition to substituting the evaporated milk for coconut milk. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract and did not use the 1/2 cup of sugar in the mix. It turned out great and was very surprised at how easy it wast to make! Will def make again. One tip, I melted the sugar in a nonstick pot and it took way too long to brown (35 min), I will use a metal pot next time as recommended in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was good but not terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Left out the additional 1/2 cup of sugar as others did. I thought it was sweet enough without it. I took advise from others who have made flan and warmed up my dish in an oven while it was preheating so that the carmel wouldn't harden too quickly. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Even with replacing the evaporated milk with coconut milk, the taste of coconut was very subtle. However this recipe deserves 5 stars because this was the best flan I've ever tasted. I had never made flan before, so I followed other reviews and used a water bath and made sure not to over-cook the sugar. UPDATE: I made this again using cream of coconut instead of evaporated milk and frozen shredded coconut and it was so good! Much more pronounced coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious, and easy for a first-time flan maker...both the flan and caramel came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
The only reason I didn't give it 5 starts is I'm not sure what a flan should taste like! However, I really enjoyed this recipe. Something I learned from other flan recipes is to turn finished flan onto serving plate; I had no idea you were supposed to do that as this recipe assumes you know. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States