Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My favorite coconut flan is the one on this site by Milly Suazo (Coconut Cheese Flan). However, that one calls for cream cheese and I was making a flan for a friend who doesn't care much about cream cheese. So, I decided to give this one a try. I wanted the coconut flavor to be noticeable so I did as many suggested and replaced the evaporated milk with a 14 oz can of lite coconut milk and omitted the extra regular milk. The flan came out good but I wasn't wowed by it. Everyone else seemed to enjoy it a lot. I think the coconut flavor didn't stand out as much as it could have. Also, flans are made in a water bath, please don't skip that step. I've made hundreds of flans over the years and for the last 15 years I have always made the caramel in the microwave. Put the sugar and some water in a Pyrex cup and heat on high for 10-15 minutes until it turns amber. Handle with care. You can use that same caramel to make decorations for the flan. Wait until it starts to harden a bit and drizzle it on top of parchment paper. When it dries up (in a minute or two) you can lift up the decoration and use it to top the flan once you have flipped it and it's ready to be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I used 1/2c coconut créme coffee creamer, and therefore omitted the extra half cup sugar, milk and coconut. It provided enough coconut flavor, and there was ample sweetness from the condensed milk. I had to drink some milk to wash down all the sweet! The "caramel" was a failure. It didn't taste altogether burned, but it certainly didn't give my flan any flair. I baked in a 9" pie dish, but there was more milk mixture than space in my dish, so I put the remaining extras in a 9"square, and put that in a water bath since it didn't have caramel in the bottom. When I inverted the square, it didn't come out, Duh, so I cut it down the middle, and lay it in a plate with a spatula. The pie plate did invert easily. Between the two, they are okay, but because of the overcooked sugar, i did prefer the square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very easy and pretty tasty. I omitted the extra half cup of sugar and added 1 tsp. vanilla. We did not miss the extra sugar at all. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I did what another reviewer suggested and used coconut milk instead of the milk. And, I used 4 oz. less the evaporated milk. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Riquisimo!!! My family uses all coconut milk. The hardest part is not burning the caramel, but its a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
i love this recipe to all those flan lovers like myself i so recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I took the advice of some of the other readers, and used coconut milk instead of evaporated milk, skipped adding the half cup of sugar, and used heavy cream instead of milk. The result was fantastic. I brought it to a Cuban themed dinner party, and everyone loved it and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MackMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great recipe! I didn't even use coconut, but this was great for regular flan too. I added a tsp of vanilla and baked it in a muffin tin for about twenty minutes in a water bath. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Flan is big in my circle and this flan is one of the best we tried. I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted that with the same amount of coconut milk and cut the sugar to 1/2 or 2/3 of suggestion. And it was a crowd pleaser. People could not get enough even after I doubled batch it already. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good. a little different than the way my Mother-in-law makes it!!!!! will make it again real soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States