Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I did what another reviewer suggested and used coconut milk instead of the milk. And, I used 4 oz. less the evaporated milk. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Riquisimo!!! My family uses all coconut milk. The hardest part is not burning the caramel, but its a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
i love this recipe to all those flan lovers like myself i so recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I took the advice of some of the other readers, and used coconut milk instead of evaporated milk, skipped adding the half cup of sugar, and used heavy cream instead of milk. The result was fantastic. I brought it to a Cuban themed dinner party, and everyone loved it and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MackMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great recipe! I didn't even use coconut, but this was great for regular flan too. I added a tsp of vanilla and baked it in a muffin tin for about twenty minutes in a water bath. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Flan is big in my circle and this flan is one of the best we tried. I did not have evaporated milk so I substituted that with the same amount of coconut milk and cut the sugar to 1/2 or 2/3 of suggestion. And it was a crowd pleaser. People could not get enough even after I doubled batch it already. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good. a little different than the way my Mother-in-law makes it!!!!! will make it again real soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was my first try out at making a dessert and i am so happy to say it came out quite good!At first i thought it was too sweet and nobody will like it, but the whole thing was gone in a matter of hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very nice. I substituted coconut milk because I didn't have evaporated milk on hand. I didn't put any coconut flakes in either. I made this recipe once before and followed it more closely. Both times it has turned out well. There is another recipe for flan on this site I enjoy more though. It adds cream cheese to the mix (which I'm sure you could do here). It is less authentic of course, but very creamy and less eggy in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmzhao82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Quite a good recipe; the taste of the coconut flakes is excellent, though beware of burning and clumpiness on the sides and bottom of the dish - I would recommend baking this in a hot water bath just to even out the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States