Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is so good. Made Mixture of Milk and Sugar to add Egg, then used a strainer to make it silky texture and dropped Vanilla bit. Baked about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Good and easy to make. I didn't make any changes and it turned out perfect ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calliemcdonald
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great! The only thing I changed was add a teaspoon ish of vanilla. Made it for my dad's birthday and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Loved this! I added vanilla and used brown sugar. I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and warmed it in the microwave and smeared it on the bottom of a single 8 by 7 Pyrex dish. I used 3 egg yolks and 2 whole eggs and 2 cups of 1 percent milk. Other than that I followed the recipe. Turned out great!! U can definitely make more than 4 servings out of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
So Easy. So Good. I loved this recipe so much, it was easy and the whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I chose this recipe because I could easily substitute the ingredients for a healthier version. I doubled the recipe and used 11 packets truvia and unsweetened vanilla almond milk instead of sugar and milk. . Very nice! Of course it would be wonderful with cream or half n half (and if you are on the "belly fat diet" I guess that would be ok) I used my own sugar free maple syrup instead of melted sugar and it was nice. Next I'll try melting truvia to see what happens. Basic flan that helps the dieter get by with sweetness and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janna
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
A great recipe. It is creamy, rich, and delicious, but it doesn't use many ingredients. A keeper! Just be sure not to burn the sugar, or it will taste bitter and you wont be able to wash it out of the ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This flan is smooth. I'm a new cook so I wasn't clear on carmelizing the sugar ( I added 2 tablespoons water and a drop of lemon) The recipe is so easy and still one of the best flans I've ever eaten. Thinking I'd messed it up anyway after I added the sugar to the dishes I added a tablespoon of amaretto to two of them. All four turned out amazing. I will be keeping this recipe for sure. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Turned out great. Hubby & father-in-law devored it. This was one of the few flan recipes I could find w/o sweetened condensed milk, which I didn't have and didn't want to go to the store. We had lots of half-n-half, so I used that for the "milk."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is a beautiful flan with a great texture - smooth and creamy, but firm enough to cut with a spoon. I added a tsp of good quality vanilla, but it wasn't necessary, if you prefer the sweet eggy flavor. For ease of preparation, I heated the milk in the sauce pan with the caramel residue, which dissolves the caramelized sugar into the milk, adding to the custard's flavor. This recipe is a keeper. By the way, if you're going to bake the cups in an aluminum pan, you should sprinkle a little cream of tartar into the water (NOT the flan) to keep the inside of the pan from oxidizing (turning dark).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States