Flan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious! I added one extra yolk to make it denser and it was perfection !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Not bad, but all these Flan recipes with sweetened condensed milk are TOO SWEET! If you are satisfied by the sweetness of the caramel sauce (which is all sugar) and prefer the custard taste of a TRADITIONAL flan recipe, skip this one and continue searching for the recipes with just sugar, milk, eggs, salt, and vanilla. There are a few out there, and they are much more satisfying with more variety of flavor, not just sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Not sure if it was something I did, but the texture of this was not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Used 9 inch pan and it was only 1/2 inch thick. Texture not as smooth as I wanted. Flan was not as custard like as expected & was more hard than expected. Good enough flavor but not what I was looking for in a flan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This flan was awesome! I really liked it. but i did add my own stuff like i added two Philadelphia packages and i added coconut cream to give it a great taste, and i succeeded but i do regret not adding any coconut flakes but otherwise my whole family liked it even my Caucasian best friend loved it, and he is picky. So good JOB :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Much too solid for Flan. I'll use less eggs next time. I haven't made flan in many years, I thought it used Sweetened Condensed Milk and Evaporated Milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It was ok, I personally use 6eggs, 2 cups of milk, one can of sweetened condensed milk, vanilla and cocunut milk 1/4 cup. blend this and allow it to settle until the bubbles have dissipated cook in a double pan with 3/4 inches of water in the lower pan on 350 for an hour. cool in the refridgerator for 3 hours flip on serving platter an serve. the caramel is optional to me as i just love the flan itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandon Granado
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used the sour cream to make this and it came out amazing. So rich but I'll have to do make it again...someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was too solid for me I followed the recipes exactly and it tasted like a syrup furtada or scrambled eggs with syrup. I was looking for something a little more custard like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Disapointed...1) the directions are not good for people who have never made this. ie:cooking sugar, i had to look for the directions, the sugar took forever & never browned. 2) it came out very eggy tasting, with bubbles, I followed the directions w/out flaw, now my boyfriend will never let it down, that he doesn't like flan. I will find a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States