Flan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
For a first ever attempt at a flan, it turned out well though I seem to have had the same problem as others with the caramelized sugar sticking. Next time I'm going to try powdered sugar, just for the heck of it. I found that even without the cream cheese it had a lovely thick, creamy textur (not yucky and gelatinous).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
To the mixture I also added water(same amount as the milk)a pinch of salt a tps.of vanilla.Since I did not have 70 min. I did in the pressure cooker in a covered metal mold (or a round cookie can, as long as it has a lid)the caramelized sugar I do direct in to the mold, let the sugar cool(I did the sugar while I was doing the milk mixture, so by the time I ended it was already cool. and added just enough water to the cooker to get half way to the mold once you put it inside(Remember the water will boil and you don't want it to get into your mixture,even if its covered it is under pressure).Once the pressure starts, lower to medium for 25 min.And that's all the time it takes.If you want a nice presentation and want to server it on a nice plate you have to put it in the fridge for at leats 2 hrs.that makes the caramelized sugar melt just enough to let you get it in to plate and won't stick to the mold>Use causion using the pressure cooker.I always use it and is a time saver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Super fabulous!! I used the cream cheese variation, and found that i much prefer this texture to that of tradition flan (which I find to be too gelatin-like). I brought this to a frind's home for a dinner party and it was raved over by all. Very easy to make, although I added 1/4 water and 1 cup sugar to make the caramel instead of the waterless version as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This was great. Almost as good as my mom's flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I wasn't so lucky with this recipe. I was looking forward to a smooth, firm custard but my flan was not smooth, it was coarse and too too sweet. The caramel stuck to the pan so perhaps mixing with some water while melting would have helped or cutting down on the sugar would be wise since so much of it is left behind in the pan. I didn't try the cheesecake version and I poured the mixture into the pan only when the caramel had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I have this same recipe from a cuban cookbook -- it's FANTASTIC and genuine. It cuts well, yet is creamy. One of a kind experience! One hint for those who have a problem with it (such as the person who found it crumbly) -- switch the steps in the recipe. First caramelize the sugar and pour into the pan, then allow it to cool -- that way the eggs will not curdle upon being poured into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
This is exactly what I was looking for, an authentic mexican dessert. My friend, who is from Costa Rica, once made this dish and it is strikingly similar to this recipe! I would make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This was very easy to follow. The flan tasted great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This recipe was awesome! I cooked it for about ten minutes less than the recipe called for. I used cream cheese in it. It was crazy good. It was very easy too. I just didn't know how to get the crunchy glaze out of the pan. I guess hot water would release it. I also wasn't sure whether to cover it or not, I didn't cover it. My husband took it to work to true Mexicans. I shouldn't have been nervous about it, they loved it. I will make it over and over again. Fabulous!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Growing up in a mexican family everyone is so picky about traditional mexican dishes. I made this last night and it came out delicious, next time I'm going to try it with the cream cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States