Flan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I made this for my Spanish II class party. I personally do not like flan, however, I got several reviews on how good this was. Before making flan, I would advise reading the how-to on the mexican recipes main page. It had many tips, like don't stir the sugar and to add a drop or two of lemon juice to it. Also, it had more detailed instructions on how to make a proper water bath for the flan. One woman, who lived in peru for 10 years, said that she usually flips her flan over right after it cools, then she chills it like that. That way a lot less of the caramel sticks to the pan. These tips made for a nice flan which was also moderately easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Horrible, toooooooo eggy,i hated it and will never try it again. I tried to save it using cinnamon, nutmeg and espresso on top to balance its tastless sweetness by coulnd't change much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I had trouble with the caramelized sugar and tried it several times thinking I was doing it wrong. I went on with it anyway and it is fab. I did the cream cheese version. Made it for a church dinner and people that said they didn't like flan loved this. Next time I will try adding the water that another lady said she did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Made this recipe for company. I used the cream cheese variation. Everyone loved it. The sugar toping did become rock hard though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
The flan seemed incredibly heavy for flan and in the future I will probably add more eggs. Very good, just not the texture I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Help. The caramalized sugar turned rock hard very quickly. I baked it in the oven in hopes it would turn liquid again but no luck. I notice this is a problem in some reviews so there must be a trick in working the sugar? I love flan and will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Me and my grandma tried this recipe and we had no complaints about it!! I found out about flan last year and have been using Jell-o's instant flan until we found this recipe. If u havn't tried this recipe, TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Great recipe! My mom has a similar recipe to this, except she uses more eggs because she doesnt like it too sweet . I added teh cream cheese and it really turned out great! The one thing i did change was the sugar. In place of sugar, i just poured some syrup on the bottom of the pan to coat it and it still tasted awesome! Made the entire thing so easy and very quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
i personally dont like flan, but i made it for my boyfriend and he loved it so much that he ate the whole thing in one sitting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Good recipe. Turned out perfect.Thanks Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States