Flambeed Vanilla-Poached Pears with Apricot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
very nice recipe... although I had some home made apricot jam, i love it way too much to use it in a sauce for a new recipe, so i used some gooseberry jam. it was really tasty, and worked very well. the pears i was using were not very ripe, so it took a really long time to get them tender, maybe 10-15 minutes. anyhow, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
We had poached pears in a restaurant in New Orleans and thought it was outstanding. But that was before I made this recipe, which was even better. The flambe was really impressive. Will definitely make this again and would even make it for a fancy dinner party when we want to impress our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Phelps Babcock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gassville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
REALLY IMPRESSIVE! Use a fancy baking dish and turn down the lights when you set this to flame. After the alcohol burns off, serve hot over ice cream. Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Really good and great presentation! Everyone loved the flames! I served it w/ the option of ice cream or table cream. The table cream was actually my favorite! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I will make this again! The pears tasted incredible and I want some more... Curse my family for eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
wow, this was excellent! my guests really enjoyed it. I've made it twice now. first time i served it with vanilla icecream and shortbread/buscuits because i thought the dessert needed something. But the second time we just ate it with ice cream. I will definetly be making this again. Even though i don't like pears too much this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this tonight for the family. Home run on all fronts. Presentation was wonderful. I served this over vanilla ice cream after the flame went out. I will be adding this one to our favorite desserts list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was a lot of fun. Easy and fast to make. The sauce was really good. We saved the extra and used it on toast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Grove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
delicious- made this without the rum. just served with sauce. was great by itself and am sure would be the same with icecream or cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This recipe was very good. I added extra rum, only because I really like rum. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shara Mercado Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States