Flambeed Vanilla-Poached Pears with Apricot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Very tasty! Good for a chistmas party. I would recomend cooking the pears longer. Also, I used raspberry preserves and they were great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CDGunn
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I just made my first flambe! So easy and delicious with a very impressive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was awesome! We had it as dessert after our Christmas dinner. It was really elegant and absolutely delicious. I served it with ice-cream and the syrup drizzled generously over all. Absolutely guest-worthy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe (it was my first poached pears dish I've ever made), but made just a few changes based on the ingredients I had on hand: I used a simple syrup of sugar and water and added two cinnamon sticks and about ten whole cloves. I peeled, halved and cored four medium red pears that were not quite ripe, then simmered them in the syrup for about 25 minutes. Once tender, I removed the cinnamon, cloves, and pears and all but 1.25 cups of the syrup, then added one cup of cherry preserves. Boiled that down and then reintroduced the pears and sprinkled on the rum. Lit the alcohol, which the kids LOVED, of course! Served with a bit of ice cream, this dessert was truly a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNSHINE6420
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Absolutely out of this world! I only used 4 pears but used 12 ounces of apricot preserves because my crowd likes their sauces! To save time, I poached the pears while dinner was in the oven and just turned the burner off while we ate. Left the pears in the saucepan to stay warm, transferred to a plate, added apricot preserves to saucepan and then cornstarch. Once the sauce was thickened I transferred the pears back to the saucepan and took the whole thing to the table to flambe! It was beautiful and delicious served with vanilla bean ice cream. The sauce alone is fantastic drizzled over the vanilla ice cream as well (that was our dessert the next night)! Looks amazing and super complicated but ultimately, a very simple and delicous dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This recipe was very good. I added extra rum, only because I really like rum. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
delicious- made this without the rum. just served with sauce. was great by itself and am sure would be the same with icecream or cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was a lot of fun. Easy and fast to make. The sauce was really good. We saved the extra and used it on toast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this tonight for the family. Home run on all fronts. Presentation was wonderful. I served this over vanilla ice cream after the flame went out. I will be adding this one to our favorite desserts list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States