Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice. It's the first time I've ever made pie dough in a food processor. I have to say, the crust comes out really flaky, but it is really really easy to overprocess, because the recipe says "with motor running.. add the water." I think this should be changed to "pulse only". Then it would be perfect! I also think the amount of water is not quite enough- I ended up adding 5 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I had never made a homemade pie crust before this Thanksgiving. Asking for help and suggestions on thebuzz, Deb C. recommended this recipe. I made it as written and according to my family, it was "awesome". It was very simple to make, and it rolled out very nicely. My SIL who makes crusts was very impressed and said "it isn't at all tough". Not sure what a tough crust is as I don't eat the crust, but everyone ate it all. I used this to make my great-grandma's pumpkin pie recipe and a pecan pie. On day two of the pie my husband commented that the crust was still really good. As easy as this was to make, I know I will be using this crust again. Thanks, Deb for your suggestion. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I love how my crusts turn out using this recipe. It has made me a great pie maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and ended up with a crust that was impossible to work with. I tried altering the amount of water but after 4 attempts with new ingredients each time, I gave up. I'm going back to making it the old fashioned way. Some things were just not meant to be done by a shortcut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Flaky, yes, flavorful, not so much. I've been making pies for years, but cutting the butter in by hand when making multiple pastries is getting harder for my wrist. In this recipe I love that the food processor does the work. I will try this food processor procedure again using my own favorite all-butter recipe and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Perfect pie crust...and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I used all butter and no shortening. Otherwise it's a great basic crust recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The pie crust was falling apart even after chilling, but dillagence with forming a ball and rolling paid off. I suggest that when putting the dough in the shell that leaving a little extra at the top because it does shrink a little when cooking. However a little work pays off with an amazing crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really easy to make in the food processor and tasted delicious. I didn't freeze the shortening or butter, but if I have time next time I"ll give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turned out wonderfully even thought I initially thought I had added too much water. So much easier and faster than doing it with a pastry cutter! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States