Flaky Crescent Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made these for my Christmas lunch and they were pretty good. Let me try to explain the confusing cresent roll dough, since it seems like a lot of people had trouble. I used Pillsbury Crescent Roll dough (regular size, not Grands). When you unroll the dough, the dough will be perforated... you will see 4 large rectangles, with each rectangle divided into 2 triangles. Ignore the triangles... break the dough into the 4 large rectangles. Then, with the knife, cut each rectangle in half, leaving you with 2 squares for each rectangle (for a total of 8 squares. Put the mushroom filling in the middle of the square (which will still have perforations - squeeze this together to keep the turnover from breaking apart). Just fold the square so it's corner to corner, into triangles and press with the prongs of a fork to keep closed. Best when dough is very cold = much easier to work with. I hope this makes sense!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
The mushroom filling is nice, but I did not like crescent rolls for this recipe. The crescent rolls made a rather large appetizer, one that was too doughy for my taste. I prefer using phyllo dough, which is much flakier and lighter and MUCH easier to use than the crescent rolls. You can buy pre-made frozen phyllo dough cups-- they are about the size of a miniature Reeses peanut butter cup (a perfect size for an appetizer.) Also, try adding 1/2 a package of Boursin Garlic and Fine Herb cheese after the mushrooms have cooked. Sometimes I make half of this recipe as directed, and half with Boursin, and the appetizers with the Boursin always go first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I made these tonight for dinner and they were delicious!!... I did make a few changes... I used an 8oz package of mushrooms, instead of minced onion I chopped up a green onion and added that to the pan with the butter and mushrooms along with 1 teasp minced garlic.. When filling the crescents do them one at a time because once the hot mushroom filling gets on them they get soggy.. So spoon some filling on one square and fold it right away then move to the next one.. On top of the mushroom mixture before folding I topped it off with a mixture of Parmesan and Mozarella cheese... Dont worry if they wont fold into a perfect triangle I found that any shape is delicious..LOL.. I didnt have any sesame seeds so I couldnt add those but they were GREAT without them.. I will be adding these to my Superbowl Appetizer trays.. Kiki (Brampton,On Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
We thought these little appetizers were terrific Paula! Instead of the dough, I just used the mini phyllo cups and they worked out great with half the work. I did add more seasonings and a little bit of dry sherry to the mushrooms. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These were SOOO GOOD !!! I had trouble putting them together the first time I made them. I made these again only just used the cresent rolls where preforated. I made 4 squares then before serving cut them in half from corner to corner. I used fresh onion and dried parsley and made extra filling. After draining I put them in a bowl and added marble jack and parmesean cheese. Last time I made them I added some shredded mozzerella cheese. Yummy !!! Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These appetizers were great! We combined them with another appetizer to make a unique dinner. We made a few changes, using 8oz of mushrooms and half an onion. We found that they shrunk so much they could easily stuff the eight crescent triangles. I think 4oz would have been too little. We also ommitted the parsley and added a clove of garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is my go to appetizer for the holidays. They are very easy to do and you can make the mushroom mixture ahead of time. I do like to add some herbes de provence to the mushrooms (about a teaspoon). I have also added shallots in place of the onion. Everyone asks for the recipe and no one can eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bon vivant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
These were okay. I know if I used puff pastry instead, they would have been ALOT better. In fact, I bet I would give that variation 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I made this recipe as a project with my children and they ate up a double recipe of these goodies. It's easy and fun to make with kids if you cook the mushrooms in advance and let them fill and fold the dough. I used a fork to seal the edges before baking so they wouldn't pull apart and that really helped the second batch. YUMMY for sure! Kids went crazy over these. Well make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Put the mushrooms on a cheese burger instead - it will be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States