Flaky Crescent Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
We were not overly impressed with this recipe although the flavor was good... the size of each of the eight servings were far bigger then we wanted to serve as an appetizer so we cut each triangle in half after cooking thus giving us 16 servings instead of the original 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This was quite delicious! But the part "fold the squares into triangles" didn't really make any sense to me. Either I was just not very good at it, or I folded soemthing wrong. Either way, I just rolled it up in the cresant rolls, and that worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I added garlic, pepper and seasoning salt. They were average in taste but the appearance was not all that great. I cannot see serving these to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
These were very good and easy to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I made these for a potluck and they were a big hit. I couldn't quite get them into the shape the recipe called for, but honestly I just rolled them up into balls with filling inside and they came out looking like beautiful popovers! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I made these for a Girl's Night last weekend and they were a HIT! These are a bit fiddly to make, I had trouble keeping the seams pinched together. I cooked the filling (added a couple cloves of minced garlic) and let it cool to room temperature before I tried to fill the dough. I couldn't get nicely shaped triangles so I just folded the squares in 1/2 and pinced the edges together with the tines of a fork to seal the turnovers. I brushed the tops with melted butter and sprinkled with garlic salt and then baked according to the directions. Very tasty! Next time I make these I will add a little grated swiss or sharp cheddar inside. I think that would make these even tastier. Hands down the Girl's voted this recipe a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
These were pretty tasty. I didn't add the onion and used dried parsley but kept everything else the same. My only complaint is that the crescents get mushy quickly. I like the idea of using the filling in little tartlets and will probably try that instead of making these again. Nice flavor and presentation though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
The mushroom filling is nice, but I did not like crescent rolls for this recipe. The crescent rolls made a rather large appetizer, one that was too doughy for my taste. I prefer using phyllo dough, which is much flakier and lighter and MUCH easier to use than the crescent rolls. You can buy pre-made frozen phyllo dough cups-- they are about the size of a miniature Reeses peanut butter cup (a perfect size for an appetizer.) Also, try adding 1/2 a package of Boursin Garlic and Fine Herb cheese after the mushrooms have cooked. Sometimes I make half of this recipe as directed, and half with Boursin, and the appetizers with the Boursin always go first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Mmmmmm.....a great treat for the muchroom lover! I made these exactly as described and they came out great. Also, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States