Flaky Crescent Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Great recipe, i was very happy with the way this came out. I added a bit of mozzarella cheese to each turnover as per other reviewer's suggestions. It was so easy to make and my friends really enjoyed it. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
My husband and I loved these! I made them as a side dish and made 6 of them - the amount of crescents in the package. It was frusterating trying to stuff them, however it was well worth the effort. This is on my list of all time favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Overall I felt this recipe was good. Instead of cutting the crescents in half I just used one whole crescent for the top and one for the bottom and pinched the sides together, I felt that was easier then making smaller ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Well, nobody else mentioned this but I had a really hard time with the dough. It was difficult to get out of the tube in one piece, and then it stretched and broke, and was virtually impossible to form nice neat squares. I added some garlic powder to the mushroom filling, as I thought it was quite bland. These were ok, but I won't make them again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
These were okay. I know if I used puff pastry instead, they would have been ALOT better. In fact, I bet I would give that variation 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
So, I have never worked with flaky cresent before and I had trouble. I followed the recipe almost exactly except for folding the 8 squares into triangles. I had trouble with that. Anyway, Once finished they just tasted like sauteed buttery mushroom in crescent rolls. Only ate one. Girlfriend ate 2. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made these for my Christmas lunch and they were pretty good. Let me try to explain the confusing cresent roll dough, since it seems like a lot of people had trouble. I used Pillsbury Crescent Roll dough (regular size, not Grands). When you unroll the dough, the dough will be perforated... you will see 4 large rectangles, with each rectangle divided into 2 triangles. Ignore the triangles... break the dough into the 4 large rectangles. Then, with the knife, cut each rectangle in half, leaving you with 2 squares for each rectangle (for a total of 8 squares. Put the mushroom filling in the middle of the square (which will still have perforations - squeeze this together to keep the turnover from breaking apart). Just fold the square so it's corner to corner, into triangles and press with the prongs of a fork to keep closed. Best when dough is very cold = much easier to work with. I hope this makes sense!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Very good. I also just rolled these like a regular crescent since the other way was a pain; also, I made a triple batch and I could fit more onto the baking sheet that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Really good~ will definitely try again as an appetizer at a party or something. I added a clove of minced garlic to the mix and skipped the butter in favor of olive oil. Folding was a bit tricky for me, too (Pilsbury's crescent dough is probably not meant for squares..) but I just made them round and everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
We thought these little appetizers were terrific Paula! Instead of the dough, I just used the mini phyllo cups and they worked out great with half the work. I did add more seasonings and a little bit of dry sherry to the mushrooms. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States