Flaky Crescent Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These are good, if a little tedious to make. I found that the grated parmesan is hard to keep in one place and can keep the dough from sealing, so halfway through I switched to small pieces of Muenster and had a much easier time with the folding and sealing. The parmesan ones obviously had more flavor, so next time I would add shaved parmesan or a stronger sliced cheese - but not the powdery grated stuff. These are addicting, so make them at your own risk. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
These were delicious! I made them for dinner tonight as a vegetarian main course. Instead of cutting them into smaller squares, I made 4 turnovers out of the 8 ounce crescent roll package and it was just right. I forgot to put in the parmesan, but they were so delicious they did not need it. I did, however, season the mushrooms well beforehand so that added to the flavor. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made these for my girls at dinner last night. They were GREAT! I added yellow peppers and 2 tbsp. of garlic in the pan with the mushrooms. . I did not use parm. cheese, but a blend of mozz and parm, instead. I also used low fat crescent rolls, as well! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I also used puff pastry instead of crescent dough. Worked really well. They were very tasty but I think next time I will add to the filling. Maybe roasted sweet potato and rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is my go to appetizer for the holidays. They are very easy to do and you can make the mushroom mixture ahead of time. I do like to add some herbes de provence to the mushrooms (about a teaspoon). I have also added shallots in place of the onion. Everyone asks for the recipe and no one can eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bon vivant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe was very good! I would recommend it to anyone that likes mushrooms alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoleskc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I also added green pepper to the mix and its tasted just heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Put the mushrooms on a cheese burger instead - it will be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I thought the flavor was good, however I tasted more roll than mushrooms. Not one of my favorites, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I liked it but was not wowed. I'm wondering if the crescent rolls are too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States