Flaky Crescent Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Used mozzarella cheese instead of parmesan. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Campbell
Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great flavor and quick and easy. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried, but I did everything else as written maybe using a bit more mushrooms just because I finished up what was left. Very good. I grated my parmesan cheese fresh on the mushrooms before I sealed them. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These were pretty good :) I cooked up some left over shaved steak and added it to the mushroom filling and sprinkled a little cheddar cheese over it all. It made for a heartier appetizer. Nice recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Seech Colanduno
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love this recipe with these suggested improvements: I put the mushrooms in the food processor rather than coarsly chopping. This made it more like a mushroom duxelle. It makes the filling easier to fit into the triangle. Also, I used a fork to crimp the edges together all the way around the triangles to provide a uniform and decorative look plus keep the filling from coming out. Finally I used black sesame seeds or poppy seeds on the top for a contrasting color, which made these seem fancier. An eggwash can help these to stick and make your dough brown better and shine. You can use puff pastery instead of crescent roll dough if you like. Personally I found phyllo dough to be too dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seech Colanduno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I have made these a couple times and they are really delicious ! Keep the dough cold until time to use it or it doesnt manipulate as well - otherwise really yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Not a huge fan of these. My sister made these for my bridal shower- she and I both agreed that they were "just ok". We had a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
definitely will try again. used puff pastry, think I need to change from butter on top to egg white...filling very good-added salt and pepper to mushrooms though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were very good. I made a few changes for our familys taste. I used the cresent creations so I didn't have to worry about the perforations. I just cut it into squares. I used a combination of brown, portabella, and wild mushrooms. I added some fresh thyme to the mushrooms. To cut down on the fat I used half the butter and replaced it with evoo. And instead of the parmesan I used swiss. I also didn't add either poppyseeds or sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyvegasmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
THESE WERE DELICIOUS. I WILL BAKE IT A LITTLE LONGER NEXT TIME, SO THE DOUGH ISNT' TOO SOFT. AND, THESE WILL MAKE EXCELLENT APPETIZERS, IF MADE SMALLER. CAN'T WAIT TO BRING THEM SOMEWHERE!! THANKS PAULA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These are good, if a little tedious to make. I found that the grated parmesan is hard to keep in one place and can keep the dough from sealing, so halfway through I switched to small pieces of Muenster and had a much easier time with the folding and sealing. The parmesan ones obviously had more flavor, so next time I would add shaved parmesan or a stronger sliced cheese - but not the powdery grated stuff. These are addicting, so make them at your own risk. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States