Five-Veggie Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made quite a few adjustments and what I ended up with was GREAT. I actually omitted the orange juice for a more traditional stir-fry.. I added in beef broth and a little worcestershire with the soy sauce and left out the sugar. I added in some tofu and scrambled egg (I love eggs in stir-frys). I also cooked the rice in low sodium beef broth. I topped the whole thing with toasted slivered almonds. With all these changes, I gave this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This recipe was great. I didn't have any cauliflowerets or mushrooms, so I just subbed frozen green beans. In fact, all of my veggies were frozen except the carrots and this still came out great. I served it over some rice cooked in chicken stock and tossed with soy sauce. EXCELLENT! I also salted and peppered the veggies as they sauteed. The only thing I may do differently next time is reduce the sugar from 2T to 1T. THanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
DH & I enjoyed this. Very nice flavor with the orange juice in it. I scaled the recipe in half for the two of us. Used reduced-sodium tamari, rather than soy sauce, cut the sugar to 2tsp, added chicken (marinated in garlic & OJ), a bit of red bell pepper for extra color, and served over a meatless version of House Fried Rice from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
So Good and for you meat eaters throw some chicken in -Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
LOVE this recipe. After making it once and eating it over rice I changed that the following time to eat with Chowmein Noodles. That was definitely the change that it needed. Be careful not to add too much Orange juice though. Since the taste and strength of Orange Juice can vary depending on the brand, sample it before adding it. If it has a stronger punch try adding a little less so that it blends instead of overpowers. This has a great flavor for those who don't like plain 'ol veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
this is delish! I marinated cut up chicken thighs in orange juice, garlic and ginger for a few hours, then stir fried. Added to veggies just before the sauce. I also added some pureed ginger, I love the ginger/orange juice combination. Will be making this for company !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I thought it was a bit too sweet because I used fresh squeezed O.J. I omitted the sugar and increased the (low-sodium) soy sauce. Omitted the mushrooms, added onions instead. I did not use any oil, just sauteed onions with crushed ginger and garlic in water. Decreased the cornstarch to 1 TB. Turned out really well. My boyfriend licked the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This stir fry was awful. Halfway through my bowl of rice and stir fry I started feeling nauseous. I even followed the hints found in the reviews of this recipe. My boyfriend and I ended up eating leftovers instead. Will never make again and am wary of any stir fry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very easy to make and my family enjoyed it. I think maybe next time i will use sesame oil to saute the veggies just our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was pretty good, but I felt the sugar would have been too sweet for our tastes. The OJ added just enough. I also cut back on the ginger, added leftover chicken from last night and more seasonings. Served this with noodles and everyone was happy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States