Five Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These did indeed smell spicy as they were baking! In fact, when I tried one I was surprised to find they weren't as spicy as the aroma led me to imagine they'd be. Not that that's a bad thing! These are, in fact, delicately spiced (I used all spices as directed) and just barely sweet, which is actually refreshing for a muffin (if I want cake, I'll eat cake). However, if you like a sweeter muffin you could easily add a little more sugar. I used candy coated/chocolate covered sunflower seeds which I've learned bleed in wet batters! (But are great in cookie doughs) While the sunflower seeds were "ok," I think I'd rather have raisins, dates or other dried fruit that might add that hint of sweetness and contrasting flavor that these missed for me. These are definitely flavorful, moist and bake up with pretty, domed tops. I left some of them as is and glazed the rest with a mixture of powdered sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
After mixing the wet and dry ingredients, there just wasn't enough moisture to combine the two. I added about 3 tablespoons of water and that did the trick. I baked them for 27 minutes. They turned out really well and super moist. The sunflower seeds adds a nice texture. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These are definitely spice muffins. I couldn't find my coriander so I left it out, but there was plenty of spice flavor in them without it. I added one large grated carrot to the zucchini and used prune butter and 1 T of oil in place of the 1/3 cup of oil, and left out the sunflower seeds entirely since I don't like them. Even with these changes the muffins came out really moist and fluffy, and were very easy to eat and eat and eat. I did get quite of few of them, though. I made 18 regular sized muffins and 20 mini muffins, although that could have been because I added more to the batter (the carrot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Recipe needs some work. won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have made this recipe twice, the second time I doubled it because the first ones went so fast! I made 21 muffins and a 9x13 cake. I plan to ice the cake with cream cheese icing. The only changes I made were to the spices. I left out the coriander and added more of the others, mostly cinnamon, but allspice and cloves as well. I also substituted the seeds for rasins (personal preference) and it worked really well. I'll definately be making this a LOT! Great recipe for zucchini, mostly because I have so many to use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I cut this recipe down to twelve servings. I used hot brewed Tazo chai tea instead of plain water. I also used whole wheat flour, pecans instead of sunflower seeds (only because my family isn't big on sunflower seeds), I cut the salt down to a pinch and the sugar down to a half cup (we're really watching our salt/sugar intake) and I kept all the spices and vanilla to a teaspoon for the twelve muffins. After folding the wet ingredients into the dry, the mixture was still too dry. I needed to add another 3/4 cup of liquid to get it to combine and look like muffin batter. I did add 3/4 cup of lowfat buttermilk. The smell of these baking is really out of this world. All of us really enjoyed them, though mine did turn out a little dry. It could just be because I did cut the recipe back or maybe I baked them too long or overmixed them due to the not enough liquid. Still, a great muffin. I think next time, I might add a half cup of organic raisins in the shredded zucchini step. Keeping the spices high in this recipe really negated the need for extra fat or sugar. This is a really flavorful zucchini muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I believe these would be much better without the sunflower seeds. Will try them without next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Delicious, chopped up a small bag of mixed seed, nuts and fruit and added it to the muffin dough. Even my picky eater loved these muffins and said they are the best ever, and she got the sevret ingredient vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
SO GOOD. I made a healthier variety with 1 c white rice flour, 1 3/4 spelt flour and 1 tsp xanthan gum. Also reduced the sugar to 2/3c and they were plenty sweet. The spices override it all and they are a fabulous mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Wow, these taste great, I love the spices. I substituted 2 small spoonfuls of honey for the sugar - if you don't like overly sweet, the honey gives it just enough. I also used egg whites only. They turned out great, I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In_Ontario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States