Five-Spice Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We absolutely loved the flavors in these wings!! The only things I changed about this recipe were additions: we like a little heat, so I added some Vietnamese chili sauce, and a little sesame oil. Marinated them for about 8 hours, and they were great. Update: I have now made these a dozen times, and each time they receive RAVE reviews from my guests. They are also excellent grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used quarter legs and grilled them. Had to sub sweet and sour with some chili flakes for the sweet chili sauce. Worked great. Served with onion rice and steamed broccoli and radishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
The Flavor was Sensational. I placed Chicken Legs in a Large Resealable Bag and added the marinade and let soak overnight. Wow - Excellent Flavor. This would be great on the BBQ too I'm Sure. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Yummy and addictive! I can't wait to try these on the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe was yummy, but I did add cilantro to it to give it that tang since I love cilantro so much. I marinated for the chicken wings for about three hours and it was great. Afterwards, I added a little oil to the pan and baked for about 45 mins, but I also saved the sause and brush it as if I was BBQing it and it gave much more flavor; therefore, it wasn'try. My family ate the whole thing. Literally! I will definitly use this recipe again and it would be great for BBQ!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe! YumOOO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wow. Is this GOOD! And so flavorful. I had some chicken legs to use up so I used those instead of chicken wings. I didn't marinate it overnight like the recipe called for. I broiled the legs for about 20 minutes on each side, then tossed them in the sauce. Cooked up nice and crisp. I didn't change much to the sauce, other than cutting back on the chili sauce, which I only used a tablespoon of. I also doubled the recipe. This turned out great. I used the drippings from the chicken in The Day Before Payday Fried Rice. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great flavor combination. Doubling the amount of fish sauce would effectively cut down marinating time to only a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This one carries a whopping 5 stars on my recipe list! It's an awesome recipe that also is great by subbing in Sriracha Chile sauce for the Sweet Chile sauce for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Wow! My husband and I were looking for some different wing recipes that were baked and these were fantastic! For an Asian recipe, it is really low in sugar, too. My husband suggested using some red pepper flakes next time to spice it up a bit. Overall, amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great Flavor!! This will be added to my monthly meals no doubt! Thank You for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotttoddynyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States