Five-Spice Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We absolutely loved the flavors in these wings!! The only things I changed about this recipe were additions: we like a little heat, so I added some Vietnamese chili sauce, and a little sesame oil. Marinated them for about 8 hours, and they were great. Update: I have now made these a dozen times, and each time they receive RAVE reviews from my guests. They are also excellent grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wow. Is this GOOD! And so flavorful. I had some chicken legs to use up so I used those instead of chicken wings. I didn't marinate it overnight like the recipe called for. I broiled the legs for about 20 minutes on each side, then tossed them in the sauce. Cooked up nice and crisp. I didn't change much to the sauce, other than cutting back on the chili sauce, which I only used a tablespoon of. I also doubled the recipe. This turned out great. I used the drippings from the chicken in The Day Before Payday Fried Rice. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
It started out kind of bland so I added more of the sweet chili sauce and it turned out great!! I also used Chicken breasts instead of the wings, and grilled it on the George Forman. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
The Flavor was Sensational. I placed Chicken Legs in a Large Resealable Bag and added the marinade and let soak overnight. Wow - Excellent Flavor. This would be great on the BBQ too I'm Sure. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Wow! My husband and I were looking for some different wing recipes that were baked and these were fantastic! For an Asian recipe, it is really low in sugar, too. My husband suggested using some red pepper flakes next time to spice it up a bit. Overall, amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used quarter legs and grilled them. Had to sub sweet and sour with some chili flakes for the sweet chili sauce. Worked great. Served with onion rice and steamed broccoli and radishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Yummy and addictive! I can't wait to try these on the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were good, but not our favorite. The cooking time is for whole wings - if you are doing wingettes/drumettes, it takes less time. I set our timer for less, but they still got a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good - just make sure to give it enough time to marinate so the full flavors of the 5-spice can soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is now on my rotation meal plan, in my husband's words...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States