Five-Spice Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
The Flavor was Sensational. I placed Chicken Legs in a Large Resealable Bag and added the marinade and let soak overnight. Wow - Excellent Flavor. This would be great on the BBQ too I'm Sure. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were good, but not our favorite. The cooking time is for whole wings - if you are doing wingettes/drumettes, it takes less time. I set our timer for less, but they still got a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We absolutely loved the flavors in these wings!! The only things I changed about this recipe were additions: we like a little heat, so I added some Vietnamese chili sauce, and a little sesame oil. Marinated them for about 8 hours, and they were great. Update: I have now made these a dozen times, and each time they receive RAVE reviews from my guests. They are also excellent grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
It started out kind of bland so I added more of the sweet chili sauce and it turned out great!! I also used Chicken breasts instead of the wings, and grilled it on the George Forman. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe was yummy, but I did add cilantro to it to give it that tang since I love cilantro so much. I marinated for the chicken wings for about three hours and it was great. Afterwards, I added a little oil to the pan and baked for about 45 mins, but I also saved the sause and brush it as if I was BBQing it and it gave much more flavor; therefore, it wasn'try. My family ate the whole thing. Literally! I will definitly use this recipe again and it would be great for BBQ!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe! YumOOO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wow. Is this GOOD! And so flavorful. I had some chicken legs to use up so I used those instead of chicken wings. I didn't marinate it overnight like the recipe called for. I broiled the legs for about 20 minutes on each side, then tossed them in the sauce. Cooked up nice and crisp. I didn't change much to the sauce, other than cutting back on the chili sauce, which I only used a tablespoon of. I also doubled the recipe. This turned out great. I used the drippings from the chicken in The Day Before Payday Fried Rice. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Excellent flavor. I doubled the sauce and used with chicken drumsticks. I'm not a huge fan of 5 spice seasoning but my hubby gave this a 9 on 10. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great flavor combination. Doubling the amount of fish sauce would effectively cut down marinating time to only a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Since this was the first time I followed the recipe pretty close. Soaked the Drummies in salted ice water for half an hour before marinating them in a zip lock bag for 8 hours. Really enjoyed the flavor but will tweek it a bit next time to make them a bit spicier. The only thing was, I couldn't get them crispy. Tried dropping a couple in a fryer after they were cooked and that seemed to help a bit. Using the Drummies it only took about a half hour to get them up to temperature inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I doubled the marinade for 8 bone in breasts. I subbed lime juice for the fish sauce because of allergies. Very good taste, loved by everyone. Grilled the breasts and the smelled fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States